• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Newbie - BCD396XT no speaker out

Status
Not open for further replies.

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#1
I have no sound out and brand new to all of this. Manually programmed local frequencies. Scans but no sound. Beeps when doing certain things but never stops and makes noise on a scanned channel. Loaded Freescan, download all in it then uploaded. Still no sound. Broadcastify shows activity. Were not locked out and Freescan says not locked. Played with volume and squelch. No change. Brand new scanner.

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2004
Messages
2,479
Location
Newport, Tennessee
#2
Need information:
Where are you located?
What is the system you are trying to monitor?

Always good to have these two pieces of information when you ask for help.
:)
 

Ronaldski

MI DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
2,128
Location
Bay City MI
#3
If you have a set of headphones try to listen using the headphone jack.
If you hear audio through them then you have a blown speaker, you can try on a rather slim chance the earphone contacts are touching, you can try pushing in-out several times with the headphones plug to separate the contacts.

Their are plenty of other threads on the same subject - you can use the search feature in the upper right of the page as well.
396xt speaker blown
 

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#4
I get sound out from volume change and other button touches but nothing from the frequencies scanned for. Same results if a speaker or headset is plugged in. Thank you.
 

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#5
Need information:
Where are you located?
What is the system you are trying to monitor?

Always good to have these two pieces of information when you ask for help.
:)
I am in northeast Minnesota Arrowhead region. Trying local police, sheriff, state patrol and more. I had seen it pause on frequencies and no sound but with broadcastify monitoring the same channels, it seems to go right by them and not stop. I am beginning to think I hit a button combination I should not have or I am programmed wrong.

I had programmed manually, did the same thing. Got a usb to serial port adapter, loaded Scanfree and programmed again. Same thing. I even removed all those states that I do not want.

I appreciate your help. Thank you.
 

rcool101

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 31, 2002
Messages
795
Location
BUCKEYE NATION
#8
Make sure the attenuator is off. Try a weather channel or scan them. Try a conventional freq. Or turn the squelch all the way off on a conventional channel. You should at least hear static.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
 

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#9
The Hold/Function/7 has changed things. Attenuation reset helped.

I now get noise and can use the squelch to control it. I had nothing before. But lots of noise now. Still not actually hearing broadcasts.

I have two groups and I see that change back and forth as if scanning, but sits on the local pd dispatch. I do not hear any broadcast though. I apparently hit some other button combination when trying to get it to work.

Thanks again.
 
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
1,109
Location
Portland, Oregon
#10
It sounds like something's not quite right with your programming. Have you checked out the Easier to Read manual for your radio?

Easier to Read BCD396XT Digital Scanner Manual

As has been suggested, try scanning the NOAA weather channels, or better yet, program all of them into your scanner by hand and see what happens. Use the Easier to Read manual to help you get them entered correctly. Another possibility is, if you're way out in the boonies you may not be able to pick up enough signal with the stock antenna. You mentioned the Minnesota Arrowhead region, but that could be any of several different counties. Without knowing specifically what you're trying to monitor we can only be of limited help. It's possible what you're trying to monitor can't be with that radio model.
.
 

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#11
Mostly in Hibbing. Scanning local pd, county sheriff and state patrol. Signal strength should not be a problem. Weather from Duluth is working great. Setting so far seem all the same as in:

Frequency - 155.4150
Audio Type - All
Number Tag - (blank)
Modulation - Normal
Attenuator - Off
Priority - Off
Alert - (Tone Off, Color Off)
Lockout - Unlocked
Volume Offset - 0

I noticed on the radioreference frequencies page that some channels are just FM and some say FMN for mode. This BCD396XT has NFM but not FMN, are these the same?

Thank you.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
6,190
#12
Upload your freescan file here so we can look at your programming. Might be something in your settings.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
6,190
#16
Hmm. didnt see anything that stood out. what are your volume and squelch levels set at? set squelch around 2.
 

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#17
Squelch has been 1 or two and the volume at 8. This is quite loud on the weather channel.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
6,190
#18
The only other thing I can think of is maybe you just aren't close enough to monitor those particular agencies or you need an outside antenna in order to do so.

If you can hear the weather broadcasts fine, it doesn't seem to be a radio issue.
 

niidji

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
12
#19
Only 2-3 miles from city tower. I am baffled. New and baffled. At least I have weather now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top