Newbie Equipment Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

impala454

Premium Subscriber
I've been dabbling with SDR for a couple of years on and off and now want to build out a nice system for my home. First a bit of background, I've been a software developer by day for the past 17 years and linux/windows software development/configuration is no problem for me at all. I dabble in electronics both at work and in a hobby basis and can do simple soldering. I've built stuff like an anemometer so I'm handy enough to run cable and build things that need building. I'm in the Houston, TX area pretty close to Ellington Field, so I feel like there's a wealth of interesting stuff to listen to. All that said, I'm a bit overwhelmed with the fire hose of information available out there for SDRs and have a few goals:
  1. Set up a permanent ADSB listener which I can then use to help identify planes near my house, and possibly feed data somewhere online.
  2. Set up a permanent scanner/listener for local police/fire, and various stuff like FRS/aircraft/etc.
  3. Set up a permanent ham setup for participating in my local club (later/longer term goal)
  4. Set up a non-permanent dongle I can just fire up SDR# and play with. Not permanent, but "plug in dongle, plug in antenna, and good to go" kinda thing.
Questions I have related to above goals:
  1. Antenna(s) - I'd like to choose and purchase an antenna(s) that I can put in my attic. I have a pretty big space available and don't have radiant barrier or anything. What I don't understand completely is, if I get something like a large discone antenna, can I "re-use" that antenna for all of the above (or at least ones where the frequencies make sense)? I've looked on amazon, is there any specific one that's a good "one size fits all" for newbies?