Newbie Here Doing Research

Status
Not open for further replies.

Texas_Flood

Hello,

Name is Alex, I came across this forum after many YouTube videos referenced this site as a place for knowledge and resources. I became interested in ham radio watching many overland videos. Considering I am looking into overlanding myself, I thought it would be useful and fun to get myself acquainted with the hobby. I recently started studying the technician class and will take the test as soon as I am confident enough to go for it. As far as "equipment" goes I went with a Baofeng BF-F8HP (3rd Gen) handheld with a Nagoya NA-771 antenna. I know it's not the best thing out there but I'll get the "Gucci gear" as I become more interested and decide just how much time and use I'll get out of the gear. Per the threads I've already searched, I looked up some local ham radio clubs and will be looking into getting more information from them as well as this forum. I have already found it to be quite useful and informative.

What I know so far:
Not much. First thing I did was charge the Baofeng to full battery and put the Nagoya on. I did watch some youtube videos on how to program the handheld so I used the proper cord and Chirp to program NOAA, FRS, GMRS, 2-meter and 70cm frequencies. So far all I've been able to pickup is the NOAA station but I haven't messed with the radio beyond downloading from Chirp. A book that I saw a lot was 2018-2022 Technician Class by Gordan West and I just started reading yesterday. Any further information y'all could send my way would be greatly appreciated. Other than the book and this website I've been looking at other online educational sources like ARRL. I look forward to see what this hobby has to offer and the journey it will provide. I'll post some info below in case y'all need the info to help out.

Radio: Baofeng BF-F8HP
Antenna: Nagoya NA-771 15.6"

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Welcome,