WS1065: Newbie here, some thoughts on programming the WS 1065..

Status
Not open for further replies.

big_d_

Premium Subscriber
Hi all, new to this site, had looked at it for a while, joined after I rec'd the WS 1065, BIG upgrade from a 20+years old RS PRO-508 20 channel analog scanner, which honestly all I needed for years, but the Ohio SHP went digital and I live near the Ohio Turnpike, I wanted to stay up on things, also my area is beginning to go digital, so time to upgrade.

That being said, if you are thinking of buying one, and going to come home and plug it in and start receiving transmissions, not gonna happen, it takes some work to understand.
So me, being completely ignorant of how to work this scanner, thought I'd get one of the software packages and do it by my computer, or send it away to get programmed but quickly found out that costs money, more than I wanted to spend at this time, so, I did opened up the scanner manual and starting reading the manual. Twice, lol. you're not gonna understand it at all the first time.

So I then went to "Understanding the Keypad." And started pressing buttons to see what they did. IMHO, this is the best way to understand your Scanner. If you mess something up, just do a "factory reset" which erases it all and you start over.

Explore this scanner, just go through the keypad and see where the pre programmed keys take you, and then play around with it, you're not gonna break.it. After you get somewhat familiar with it try programming in some conventional objects, (frequencies) like a local Public Safety that is still analog.

If you are like me, whose eyes sometimes glaze over when I see a lot of instructions, there is nothing like see a video tutorial showing the actual button pressing to reinforce the info you've read. Here are two I found to be extremely helpful:

Both of them apply to the WS 1065, basically identical software.