Newbie here with opening questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

NMDawg

Gentlemen and Ladies,

I hail form eastern New Mexico and am very new to scanning and scanners. My experience with scanning is an inherited Radio Shack scanner I got from my father. I programmed frequencies I acquired from some friends here in town. I can listen to fire and PD in my home town (Portales) and every once in awhile our neighboring town of Clovis. The reception is not real good. I was thinking that we ( we, my wife and I, she is interested also) could do better with a new unit with an outside antenna. I have looked at several and gone through the choose a scanner page on a couple of websites. Recommended scanners have various features and price tags to go with. Now for questions...

Generically what are good features to have on a unit? I know it might sound silly but I am unsure and unknowledgeable.
What and where are good materials to read or listen to to learn more? I have done some research but I feel like I am bouncing around from one place to another.
Last question for this evening...
I would like to listen to law enforcement in Clovis. My children and grandchildren live there and I would like some information before the Facebook grapevine starts if anything bad was happening there so just maybe I can help them. What I have been able to discern is the Curry county and Clovis PD use NXDN digital. I have also gathered that these can be encrypted. I am not asking here whether it is good thing or a bad thing. That is a discussion for a different time and place. The questions I have are... how can I tell if the transmissions are encrypted? Will the NXDN add on for the scanners decrypt? These I would like to know before I buy. I don’t wish to spend a large amount of money only to find out what I bought won’t work. I realize too that they may be unencrypted right now but encrypted in the future.

So any help or advice would greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Craig (NMDawg)