Newbie to SDR - A Few Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

convivium

Hello.

I am new to the forum and new to software defined radio.

I am currently a college student at Clemson University studying Bio-materials Engineering. I hope to one day develop a 100% bio-compatible, fully implantable human heart for individuals born with congenital heart defects.

I am somewhat familiar with frequency, phase, period, sine - triangle - square and sawtooth wave formats, and the Fast Fourier Transformations for attack - sustain - release & decay.

Recently, I purchased two DVB-T + DAB+FM dongles. RTL2832 and I have a working setup.

Pictures.

However, I do have a few questions that maybe someone more with more expertise than I can answer.

1) What is RF Gain? I realize it increases the sensitivity of the RTL but my dongle seems to like the RF Gain relatively high, currently 44.2 decibels. If I decrease the RF Gain to around 22 - 32 dB then I am unable to control the squelch. Which brings me to my next question.

2) Is the amount of squelch related in anyway to the size of the bandwidth that I am using to receive the full signal that is being transmitted? Often times it appears that the higher bandwidth the lower squelch I need to set to cut the below decibel frequency waves out.

3) What filters are optimal and should I be using the options Turner AGC or RTL AGC? If so what do these actually mean to me as a straight listener.

4) Does the new SDRSharp v1328 with Unitrunker still require two dongles? If so, would you advise me to purchase Virtual Audio Cable or use VB-Cable for free? Does the free version of VB-Cable come with two virtual cables or just one? Any other free virtual audio cable program suggestions are welcome and appreciated.