Newbie Wanting To Learn

Status
Not open for further replies.

squirrel911

Estill Springs/Decherd/Winchester/Franklin County
I am just getting into all this stuff and would like to get my HAM Radio License. How do I go about doing that? I live in Tullahoma Tennessee. I also would like to do SKYWARN if anyone could help out with that to? And one more thing, where can I get a HAM radio? Thank YOu all for the help.

hcpholder

Premium Subscriber
Hi Squirrell, I'm just getting started too. Try looking at the "arrl.com" website for a club in your area. They will usually provide information as to testing procedures and such. That's where I located where I am going to taky my Technician's class test in April, hopefully! That's a great starting place. There is more info there than you can possibly imagin! Best wishes and, as the other hams say, 73's

Ref-Jazzy

You can buy all the Ham radios you want with out a LIC, you just can't TX. You can get radios at several different websites, radio shack, ebay, CL, Frys, etc etc.

ab8sn

Premium Subscriber
You can purchase amateur radios at a lot of places: AES (the one I use) HRO, Gigaparts and as others have mentioned ebay.

Believe it or not, it is illegal according to the FCC rules and regulations to use an amateur transceiver to transmit on public safety frequencies. You can listen to local public safety on one as long as you want but if you are a fire/rescue member, better get you a public safety radio.

Hope this helps

73s

Chad

squirrel911

Estill Springs/Decherd/Winchester/Franklin County
Believe it or not, it is illegal according to the FCC rules and regulations to use an amateur transceiver to transmit on public safety frequencies. You can listen to local public safety on one as long as you want but if you are a fire/rescue member, better get you a public safety radio.

I have three different public service radios i was just wondering so i could copmbine them all into one.

gewecke