Status
Not open for further replies.

Shae_Clark

Hey guys, I really hope someone can help me. I'm new to this whole scanner world but I'm wanting to get a scanner that I can listen to the individual Wichita Police & Sedgwick County channels. Or possibly something where you can play multiple of those channels at once? I consider myself pretty tech savy, but honestly just starting to look into all of this & exactly what scanner I need is making me pretty overwhelmed.. 😕 Does anyone know of a pretty cheap scanner that will work with those channels? It doesn't need to be preprogrammed at all. I can do that.

Last edited:

K9ZV

Premium Subscriber
Hey guys, I really hope someone can help me. I'm new to this whole scanner world but I'm wanting to get a scanner that I can listen to the individual Wichita Police & Sedgwick County channels. Or possibly something where you can play multiple of those channels at once? I consider myself pretty tech savy, but honestly just starting to look into all of this & exactly what scanner I need is making me pretty overwhelmed.. 😕 Does anyone know of a pretty cheap scanner that will work with those channels? It doesn't need to be preprogrammed at all. I can do that.
Hello,
I'm a bit of a newbie to the digital scanner scene myself, but I know you should be looking at scanners that are capable of receiving P25 Phase 2 systems. Our Kansas statewide system (KSICS) is either using Phase 2 now, or is preparing to soon. BTW, I'm in Salina.
As for a cheap scanner, probably not. I use the Whistler TRX-1 so that's all I'm familiar with. They can normally be found used for $350-400. Or if you're patient and watch Amazon daily, the price of new ones will drop into that range occasionally. A few months ago I snagged a new one for $353.
Heres a link to help with your search. Good Luck

sonm10

Central MN Monitor
Premium Subscriber
I see simulcast on the Sedgwick system
The Uniden SDS 200 is the only scanner that can properly decode simulcast