• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

nexedge channel spacing

Status
Not open for further replies.

aj4ls

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
4
Location
ky
Hello forum members. I have a question, will the nx 740 which is 6.25 khz only receive nexedge digital signals that are 12.5 khz. Thanks in advance for any help.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
11,808
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
No. The NX-x40 line of radios will only tx/rx using the "very narrow" 6.25KHz NXDN mode. It will not receive/decode "narrow" 12.5KHz NXDN mode. The data rates for the two versions are different. (4800 vs. 9600)
 

rg65

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
56
However, the new v2 NX-x40 radios will do 12.5 digital and 6.25 digital. But, as he said, the mode has to match or it will not decode.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
11,808
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
NX-740/840's with Version 2 won't be released until June 2015. Still a few days to go.....
Version 1 radios can't be upgraded to version 2.
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,668
Location
Sonoma, CA
NX-740/840's with Version 2 won't be released until June 2015. Still a few days to go.....
Version 1 radios can't be upgraded to version 2.
We're just now getting portables. Put out some NX-340's V2. Huge firmware bug. TX audio was terrible, low, tinny, and garbled (like you were on the fringe). No amount of knob twisting in the software would make it sound decent. Had to upgrade firmware from v2.00 to v.2.01. All is fine now. If anyone gets first release units, check before passing them out.

Apologies to OP for thread misappropriation.
 

aj4ls

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
4
Location
ky
Thats what i thought. This radio is useless to me. Guess i will try to sell it, Thanks for the help..
 

aj4ls

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
4
Location
ky
Some of the agency's around here that i want to monitor are using both 6.25 and 12.5 khz. I have an NX 700 that works great, but this radio does not suit me so im going to sell it.
 

SAFFA

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
120
Location
World
I also think NX-_40 radio could have a few more features. Biggest gripe I have is that I can't scan between digital channels and analogue radios. This has given me a few headaches as many clients have multiple channels and not all are digital and they want to monitor all there channels.

If you compare other manufactures entry level digital radios they are all cable of this, Motorola, Icom, Hytera etc.

Maybe they have changed this in version 2, not sure.
 

SAFFA

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
120
Location
World
I also think NX-_40 radio could have a few more features. Biggest gripe I have is that I can't scan between digital channels and analogue channels. This has given me a few headaches as many clients have multiple channels and not all are digital and they want to monitor all there channels.

If you compare other manufactures entry level digital radios they are all capable of this, Motorola, Icom, Hytera etc.

Maybe they have changed this in version 2, not sure.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
11,808
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Purchasing the lowest tier radio and wanting more features? The NX-x40 is the absolute lowest tier NXDN radio that Kenwood sells. If you want more features you need to step up to the NX-x20, NX-x10, NX-x00 or NX-5x00 models.
 

SAFFA

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
120
Location
World
I agree. Point I'm trying to make is that if you compare the nx-_40 to other manufactures entry level radios you are getting a few less features on the Kenwood.

In our market the Kenwood is also about 40% more expensive than Icom and Motorola.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top