NH Phase II Scanners?

Status
Not open for further replies.

N4SRN

Premium Subscriber
I’m still learning about scanners and what they can do, deciding what I want to do with one. I read on the Internet (I know, that’s a bad start) that Phase II scanners are important for use in NH. What does that mean and is it true?

I live in Bedford/Hillsborough and expect handheld use to be between the NH/MA border and Concord, Keene to Portsmouth, hiking & camping with a whip antenna and maybe while mobile driving, on an exterior mounted antenna. At present, I would not rule out any RX capabilities on a handheld - that’s where I’m lost on what I do/don’t need in my operating area. I like the idea of integrated GPS. Some Close Call function to know proximity to me in the woods seems useful.

Thanks for comments/questions!

Bret/N4SRM

W1KNE

Owner ScanNewEngland
Database Admin
Morning Bret,
So Phase II refers to a specific type of trunked system. A Phase II scanner simply means the scanner can decode Phase II trunking. Where that would apply to New Hampshire would be Nashua, which has a Phase II trunk. (Remember Police are encrypted). Everything else is conventional, or Phase I (Manchester). Mass State Police are analog for most of the NH border, and almost every town/city along the border is conventional as well. Either digital or analog. New Hampshire uses a lot of P25, conventional. For your sake, if you were to buy a scanner, your best bang for the buck would be the Uniden 436HP portable. It has a great receiver, replays audio, handles P25 audio nicely. Uses standard batteries.

N4SRN

Premium Subscriber
Morning Bret,