• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

No version of CPS will work on Windows 10 for CP200

crayon

RF Cartography Ninja
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
3,065
Location
36°33'01.2"N 98°56'40.1"W
I have done some forums searches but was unable to find any info.

I have Windows 10 LTSC 21H2, FTDI USB serial cable and four flavors of CPS:

R05.08
R05.12
R05.16
R05.18

None of them will read the radios:

#radio1 firmware: R03.00.03 codeplug: 03.01
#radio2 firmware: R03.01.00 codeplug: 05.02
#radio3 firmware: R03.02.07 codeplug: 06.01
#radio4 firmware: R03.07.01 codeplug: 10.01

If I switch to Windows 7 .. zero problems except for that OS complains about the driver for the FTDI cable. If I F8 during boot to disable driver signature enforcement no issues.

So I feel like this is a Windows 10 / CPS problem but wanted to check with you all to get your thoughts.
 

crayon

RF Cartography Ninja
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
3,065
Location
36°33'01.2"N 98°56'40.1"W
Thanks for the help gents .. apologies if that is common knowledge as I was searching did not see anything that mentioned it.

I did, however, find a thread where @ElroyJetson you mentioned CP200's PPT switches were poorly designed and you were tired of working on them. lol. That is also good to know ..

Just need to fix the W7 driver signature enforcement issue and will be good to go.
 

ElroyJetson

BURN BABY BURN. MAGA!!!!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
3,798
Location
Somewhere between the Scylla and Charybdis
It's not that the switch itself is so bad, it's just a really dumb idea to direct mount a PTT switch on a PC board, particularly when the actuating force on the switch tends to tear the switch off the board. Lateral forces are BAD. And that's how the CPOS200 is made.
 

crayon

RF Cartography Ninja
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
3,065
Location
36°33'01.2"N 98°56'40.1"W
It's not that the switch itself is so bad, it's just a really dumb idea to direct mount a PTT switch on a PC board ...
Gotcha.

Sidebar question .. do you know the intent of the tab below the holding screw on the accessory retainer?

1716325430777.png

It is holding the radio up just a smidge more in this holster and I was thinking about removing it ..


1716326065678.png
 

wb1ccp

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
32
Location
Lebanon, CT
Here, we use Commercial Series CPS R05.18 to program CP200s along with PR400s and CM200/300 mobiles on Windows 10 and even 11 without issues. However, we're using the Moto RIB box. Yes, I know it's a pain to drag out all that hardware to program a radio but whatever. It's most likely an issue with your USB-to-serial driver rather than the CPS itself.

I'm assuming that you're aware that you need to find what COM port is assigned to the cable and set up the CPS accordingly, yes?
 

Project25_MASTR

Millennial Graying OBT Guy
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
4,262
Location
Texas
I've never had an issue with Windows 10 and CP200's.

Use a RIB. I don't trust generic drivers...USB to Serial I've found to work are the TrippLite, IOGear, and BrainBoxes units. The Brain Boxes is what I use for everything serial related on my personal laptops (work laptop has a serial port).
 

rhedgehog

Newbie
Joined
Oct 10, 2023
Messages
2
I use R05.18 on Windows 10 all the time. I'm using a home-made programming cable with a known-genuine FTDI chip in it. There are a lot of knock-off FTDI chips out there, and those can have various driver issues sometimes.
 
Top