Noise on feed

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrDLoomis

Feed Provider
I hope this is the correct forum. If not, please forgive me.

I'm new to all of this, so please bear with me.

I've got everything hooked up and the feed is broadcasting. The only problem I have is that when you listen to the feed, there is a "hiss" on the channel when evertyhing is quiet.

I don't hear that noise on other feeds.

Here is my feed: Clatsop County Sheriff, Fire, Police, and EMS Live Scanner Audio Feed

I've tried an audio isolator per the instructions, but that didn't help. Everything is clear and audio sounds ok, it's just that there is the annoying "hiss". The squelch on the scanner doesn't change it, and the scanner is not de-squelched.

I'm using a Radio Shack Pro-74 scanner and the on-board sound in my computer. Connected from the headphone jack (no line out jack) to the mic-in in the computer (using line-in on the computer didn't work). On one side of the cable I have my amplified speakers. It doesn't matter if I disconnect the speakers,

Changing the volume on the scanner is the only way to adjust levels. It doesn't seem to make any difference where the setting are on the "sliders" on the computer audio panel.

Thanks for any assistance.

Bullmax

Make sure the check mark is not checked for the mic boost in the advanced audio on your computer.

tneff

I had a similar problem, lowered my mic in level and also switched to a mono audio cable instead of a stereo. For some reason, the cable change did the trick. I also tried a different stereo cable, but did not make a difference.

MrDLoomis

Feed Provider
Tried different cable...same problem.

I tried a mono cable and nothing changed. Right now, I have a mono to stereo adaptor to a stereo cable (the one suggested in the wiki), that goes to the cable (also suggested in the wiki) to the computer mic in.