Noob- General question on radio scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

alokpant

Hi, I am very new to radio and this may be elementary question, though I cant find answers by searching this forum. I am using use SDR radio (SDRPlay RSPDx, SDRUno) to scan and listen to some local frequency ( utility, HAM radio etc). I try most of the frequency listed @ below but hear nothing. Can you be kind enough to educate me on below as example
1. Is this Freq 154.96500 in Mega hertz. ie. 154,965,000 Hz
2. What does Type mean RM, BM etc mean. I get its Repeater, Base, Mobile etc. but does this include specific decoder type etc that I need to tune in my SDR for specific type AM/LSB/USB,.. NFM etc. Do I need to configure Tone value (ex. 110.9PL etc) in SDR application to hear
3. What does Mode FMN means. Is this FM, NFM mode?
4. Are these digital or analog. Do I need special app such as DSD+ etc to hear this
5. Is there any other database other then below to help list local frequency and type of broadcast

Any other pointers to share for starters like me
Thanks you for your help
AP

Frequency License Type Tone Alpha Tag Description Mode Tag
154.96500 KLX853 RM110.9 PLAustin Fire DispAFD Station Alert (with TG 1147) FMN Fire Dispatch
155.34000 BMCSQMedevac-HospMedevac to Hospitals FMN Hospital

devicelab

Whacker Extraordinaire
1. Yes
2. Repeater/Mobile..? Base/Mobile..? This doesn't matter for the most part
3. Scanners ignore the PL Tone and will receive the frequency no matter what; however, on the repeater input frequency (and with certain tones) you may hear a slight hum which is the embedded tone. (I believe most scanners filter 0-255 hz on the audio going out to the speaker -- so these were not audible.) If there's no tone, then that's CSQ. i.e. the transmitting carrier will unlock the repeater instead of the PL Tone. The SDR will receive the raw audio. This is one way to identify repeater inputs -- you'll hear the PL tone.