Noob in CA with Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

67roadster

I am completely new at this and still trying to figure out all the terminology, what the equipment does, etc.

With that said, I'd like to get a HT plus something that I can listen to local pd on for emergencies. I didn't want to have to get a HT and a scanner so this unit seems to do both. I live in South Orange County and see on this site that many of the pd frequencies are encrypted.

Anyone have experience with the Yaesu FT-60R? Is it good for both listening to local fire/pd and HT..especially for a noob?

NEW YAESU FT-60R DUAL BAND HAM RADIO TRANSCEIVER - Radioshop888 KG-UVD1P VX-8R VX-3R VX-7R VX-170 KG-699E KG-669 KG-689 PX-777 PX-888 FT-897 FT-857 VX-177 VXA-300 KG-679 VEV-3288S V-1000 TG-UV FT-817ND FT-60R FT-897 FT-857 VX-7R VX-7RB VX-6R VX-3R FT

Frequency Range Receive:
- 108 - 137 MHz
- 137 - 520 MHz
- 700 - 999 MHz (Cellular Blocked)

Thanks.

Markb

Premium Subscriber
Welcome to the forums. The FT-60 is a good little radio, but not for monitoring any 800Mhz trunking in Orange County. You really need to get a digital scanner or you will drive yourself crazy trying to listen to what is going on. You will also find that even though an amateur radio says it has wide band RX, YMMV. I like to listen to military aircraft and most ham radios are basically deaf in much of that range. That's worst case, but the manufacturers don't guarantee good reception for anything outside the ham bands.
The other issue is that much of the OC system is digital and there isn't a ham radio that decodes APCO P25 digital, so besides the radio not tracking a trunked system, it will not decode digital, so all you'll hear is noise much of the time.

Mark

SkipSanders

Silent Key
No ham handie is a 'good' scanner. The requirements for trancievers and scanners are very different.

Scan rate alone will be MUCH slower on an HT.