BCD436HP/BCD536HP: Not picking up my county

Status
Not open for further replies.

cwa1982

I am new to the scanner world and purchased the bcd436hp after seeing that I just need to put in my zip code and go. I live in starke county Indiana and am putting in Knox zip code (46534) but am not picking up anything in starke county at all. I am picking up all services in the surrounding counties so I don’t think it is a settings issue. Am I missing something or is this scanner not going to work for my area? As I said I am new to this so any help understanding or resolving would be greatly appreciated. I am only interested in emergency services at this time.

bravo14

Premium Subscriber
I haven't messed with zip code much. Make sure you have the Service Types enabled. Go to Main Menu > Select Service Types > Select what you want on or off.

hightime

I am new to the scanner world and purchased the bcd436hp after seeing that I just need to put in my zip code and go. I live in starke county Indiana and am putting in Knox zip code (46534) but am not picking up anything in starke county at all. I am picking up all services in the surrounding counties so I don’t think it is a settings issue. Am I missing something or is this scanner not going to work for my area? As I said I am new to this so any help understanding or resolving would be greatly appreciated. I am only interested in emergency services at this time.
Look up Starke Co. in the Indiana data base. Note the tag in the last vertical row. Fire Tac, Law tac, Other, etc. Then go into sentinel the pull up edit profile, go to service types and make sure those are checked. I would check them all and when I decided what I did not want to hear, uncheck them. Up load to the radio. If they are already checked then I don't know

tvengr

Well Known Member