• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

NX-5700 and NX-5800 audio

Status
Not open for further replies.

chief1110

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
7
Location
Greenville (Greene County) NY
I just put in a dual deck dual head, with the deluxe control heads, when the radios scan how do I get audio out of both at the same time, I have the external speakers hooked to the deluxe heads.
 

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
824
Location
California
If you have the speakers attached to the heads you'll only get selected audio out of the heads.

Each deck will need a speaker to do it right. Truck I'm building right now has a VHF for fire primary and VHF/UHF for secondary/medics. The primary is using audio off of the control head but I need to speakers via KAP-2 kits off of each deck for simultaneous receive.

There's a single audio output option that allows you to use one speaker but I highly recommend against it as it's on a priority basis.
 

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
824
Location
California
Not directly, but you can set a -3dB or -9dB unselect audio offset, which you can adjust via menu if you set it as a menu item.

Also, you can program a button or menu option for Unselected RF Deck Speaker which will mute/unmute the unselected decks
 

DarcyB

Member
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
18
In my setup, I use the -9db audio offset for the unselected decks, feed all of the spkr out's through a level converter, summing mixer and audio power amp to feed the speaker. The summing mixer was modified to have mechanical stops to ensure that audio is never fully muted in the mixer, and was installed in the console in such a way to allow adjustments if necessary, but is protected enough to ensure that those adjustments are not made accidentally.
1588168078916.png
 

wd9cms

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2004
Messages
74
Location
New Mexico
DarcyB,

I like your audio mixing setup! Do you have any installation pictures on how you mounted the mixer?

Thanks,

Bill
 

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
824
Location
California
In my setup, I use the -9db audio offset for the unselected decks, feed all of the spkr out's through a level converter, summing mixer and audio power amp to feed the speaker. The summing mixer was modified to have mechanical stops to ensure that audio is never fully muted in the mixer, and was installed in the console in such a way to allow adjustments if necessary, but is protected enough to ensure that those adjustments are not made accidentally.
View attachment 84004
Are you using two separate LOCs or a 4 channel LOC like this:
 

DarcyB

Member
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
18
DarcyB,

I like your audio mixing setup! Do you have any installation pictures on how you mounted the mixer?

Thanks,

Bill
I'll try and remember to get some pics next time I'm near that rig.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top