• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

NX-700-E Scan Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

LimaZulu

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
195
Hi, I am pretty new to the Kenwood digital family. Been looking to get one for a long time and now when I got it I love it even more :) By now I only had some analog radios and I love them.
After reading here I found some answers to my questions but there is something I still can't get right. So my problem is to program the radio to scan the way I want it. I programmed some HAM repeaters and simplex frequencies and I have a separate zone with mixed analog and NXDN conventional channels just for listening. Radio does start to scan ok but for the analog channels I have only indication that a signal is present. If I want to hear it I have to press briefly the PTT button. But that is not true for the NXDN channels. They sound ok when signal is present. If I disconnect the microphone the problem is gone. I know that maybe I messed something with these "on/off-hook" settings but just can't get it right. I do have "off-hook scan" checked. Would be nice if some of you, knowledgeable people, can help me :)
 

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
750
Location
California
Sounds like you have a PL tone/DCS code enabled on channels that don't transmit PL/DCS (very common on low quality/very old ham repeaters) or the wrong PL tone (Split tone systems) on the output. It also sounds like you have "Off Hook Decode" disabled because you're able to hear the audio once you take it off hook.

I'd run the radio in carrier squelch (no decode setting) on the ham channels until you can verify the correct output tones.

The other option is maybe you have optional signalling enabled on that channel and audio signalling is set to "AND" condition in that zone.
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,793
Location
Sonoma, CA
The other option is maybe you have optional signalling enabled on that channel and audio signalling is set to "AND" condition in that zone.
That would be my vote. PTT would not disable QT/DQT to hear things, but it would defeat any optional signalling.
 
Last edited:

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
750
Location
California
That would be my vote. PTT would not disable QT/DQT to hear things, but it would defeat any optional signalling.
Yeah, but it's hard to imagine they set an optional signalling on accident and set to AND. Weirder things have happened!?
 

LimaZulu

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
195
Thanks guys, you gave me a clue and I figured it out! :)
Signaling type was set to 5-tone but since I have no other options than 5-tone, Fleet Sync or MDC-1200, I went to 5-tone section and set Monitor Function to QT/DQT. Then all you have to do is set the correct tone for each frequency, which in my case is None.
 

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
750
Location
California
Thanks guys, you gave me a clue and I figured it out! :)
Signaling type was set to 5-tone but since I have no other options than 5-tone, Fleet Sync or MDC-1200, I went to 5-tone section and set Monitor Function to QT/DQT. Then all you have to do is set the correct tone for each frequency, which in my case is None.
Great job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top