NXDN Upgrade for BCD436HP and BCD536HP Now Available!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MtnBiker2005

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,689
Location
San Diego County, California
Last edited:

wx5uif

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 24, 2006
Messages
686
Location
Broken Arrow, OK
Quick question.

How does the NXDN LCN work? Does it go by channel number?

The CC directs the voice channels to channel 286, 76 etc. I’m guessing those channel numbers have to be set in the radio?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

kbod9633

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
555
Location
Charlotte Tn
Purchased keys for all radios even though i wont see the 536 for about a month but worth doing it now to save some $$'s
 

jhampton2000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
769
UPMan - can you confirm NXDN4800 and NXDN9600 decoding expected of this firmware upgrade please?

Initial testing with indicates proper decoding of Conventional NXDN9600, with correct RAN, GID and UID. However NXDN4800 just comes through as before (white noise). Tried it (unsuccessfully) on x2 BCD436HP's now, with a Kenwood NX Portable.
 

WX4JCW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
2,405
Location
All Over USA
UPMan - can you confirm NXDN4800 and NXDN9600 decoding expected of this firmware upgrade please?

Initial testing with indicates proper decoding of Conventional NXDN9600, with correct RAN, GID and UID. However NXDN4800 just comes through as before (white noise). Tried it (unsuccessfully) on x2 BCD436HP's now, with a Kenwood NX Portable.
im decoding NXDN4800 just fine, it does sometimes give some digital before decode
 

jhampton2000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
769
im decoding NXDN4800 just fine, it does sometimes give some digital before decode
Thanks Jason. Conventional or Trunked please. Also is it mobile/simplex, or base/repeater please.
The issue I have is with conventional simplex (haven't tried repeater yet). Note I too get the digital wait time digi noise on NXDN9600.
 

WX4JCW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
2,405
Location
All Over USA
Thanks Jason. Conventional or Trunked please. Also is it mobile/simplex, or base/repeater please.
The issue I have is with conventional simplex (haven't tried repeater yet). Note I too get the digital wait time digi noise on NXDN9600.


Right now I just plugged in a frequency it’s showing as mobile


Sent from my iPhone 8 using Tapatalk Pro
Jason WX4JCW
Unication G4, BCD536HP
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,697
Location
Eastern MA
Yes, it goes by channel. There is no standard channel plan, so you have to know the channel number and the frequency. There's a thread on how to figure that all out in the "Voice/Control Channel Decoding Software" forum.

I don't know if you need the RAN or not, since I haven't bought the key yet.

The nice thing about NXDN is that many systems transmit the unit Alias so you don't have to guess who the users are.

I'm looking forward to this upgrade.

Quick question.

How does the NXDN LCN work? Does it go by channel number?

The CC directs the voice channels to channel 286, 76 etc. I’m guessing those channel numbers have to be set in the radio?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,097
Location
Connecticut
Should I be seeing the Aliases that are transmitted on a trunked NXDN system? i know that they are there as I am following the same conversations on DSDPlus.

chris
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top