Odd Problem With Cape Cod Police and Fire Departments Feed

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC1UA

Scan New England Guru
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,586
Location
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Hello,

Using the latest version of Scannercast, suddenly having a problem with this feed showing as offline, and thus no connectivity to it. Scannercast indicates that it is connected to the mount point and streaming normally. The three remaining feeds I send are working fine.

The feed having a problem sends alpha tags, the other three do not. Other than a recent update to the latest version of Scannercast (which I don't believe caused the problem) there have been no other changes to the configuration of the computer.

I'm stumped. Any ideas, folks?

Thanks.
 

PeterGV

K1PGV, ScannerCast author
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
753
Location
Mont Vernon, NH
That is odd, Scott. Hmmmm...

New problems appear to be showing up on people's feeds due to what I'm GUESSING is unusually high levels of network usage due to the holiday season. I've examined several logs that folks have sent me, and they look like disconnects due to timeouts... general network congestion, excessive latency.

What does the ScannerCast log say in the feed that's not connected? Can you stop and restart it successfully? Is this on the same machine as the other (working) feeds?

It's creepy that ScannerCast says it's connected, but RR thinks it's not. That must mean that ScannerCast is sending data or that it's hung-up on something. Either way, that's just plain weird, and it sounds like a possible ScannerCast bug to me!

Tell me what you see in ScannerCast.Log -- I'd like to help troubleshoot this and find a root cause for the problem.

Peter
K1PGV
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Guru
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,586
Location
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Here's the latest entry from scannercast.log. I can e-mail you the entire log if you want.

13-Dec-2009 22:31:41 Server stop requested.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:44 Stopping Push Connection.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:44 Server Stopping Sound Capture.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:44 Server Final Cleanup.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:44 Server Stopped.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:49 Server start requested.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:49 Retrieving initial auto-config for user 'scancapecod'
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Selected Feed: Cape Cod Police and Fire Departments(415)
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Selected Feed: Cape Cod Police and Fire Departments(415)
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Server started.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Server Port:
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Sound Card: SB Live! 24-bit External (4)
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 MP3 BitRate: 16Kbps
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 COM Port: COM1
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Server name: Cape Cod Police and Fire Departments
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Port Speed: 115200
13-Dec-2009 22:31:50 Max allowed clients: 0
13-Dec-2009 22:31:54 Exception starting server. Port number on Config tab is probably invalid:
Input string was not in a correct format.
13-Dec-2009 22:31:54 Connecting to Icecast server audio1.radioreference.com/ma_capecod
13-Dec-2009 22:31:55 Connection complete to Icecast server audio1.radioreference.com/ma_capecod
That's the most recent stop and restart, which is successful. It is on the same computer as the other three working feeds, all of which are audio only and running via ScannerCast.
 

PeterGV

K1PGV, ScannerCast author
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
753
Location
Mont Vernon, NH
(Scott sent me the log via email and nothing unusual in it at all. Positively spooky...)

Peter
K1PGV
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Guru
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,586
Location
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
One thing I noticed when I just tried to connect to the feed despite it being offline...Winamp is looking for audio2.radioreference.com..... and ScannerCast says it's connected to audio1.radioreference.com..... not sure if that's something internal that takes place on the audio server or not. Now that I look though my other feeds appear to do the same thing, yet they work.

For laughs I tried disabling the alpha tags but that did not make a difference. The mystery continues.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,533
Location
BEE00
One thing I noticed when I just tried to connect to the feed despite it being offline...Winamp is looking for audio2.radioreference.com..... and ScannerCast says it's connected to audio1.radioreference.com..... not sure if that's something internal that takes place on the audio server or not. Now that I look though my other feeds appear to do the same thing, yet they work.
That's normal behavior. audio1 input = audio2 output, audio3 input = audio4 output
 

PeterGV

K1PGV, ScannerCast author
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
753
Location
Mont Vernon, NH
One thing I noticed when I just tried to connect to the feed despite it being offline...
So... wait: You're saying it's doing the same thing AGAIN?

Like, last night wasn't an isolated incident and restarting ScannerCast didn't just make the problem go away?

Peter
K1PGV
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Guru
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,586
Location
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Unfortunately it has not worked at all since my post last night. Sorry for the miscommunication. It's still offline.
 

PeterGV

K1PGV, ScannerCast author
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
753
Location
Mont Vernon, NH
"Oh my goodness"

(I'm working with Scott offline to try to address this problem... if we rule-out a ScannerCast related issue, we'll let the RR Audio Admins know).

Peter
K1PGV
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Guru
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,586
Location
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Well this is somewhat embarrassing, but after a complete shutdown and reboot it's working again. I'm always telling people to reboot and watch their problems disappear; apparently I should take my own advice. The thing that kept me from doing it for so long was the fact that three of the four feeds continued to run fine, as did the remainder of programs running on the machine, which is dedicated to feeds and the upload of weather station data to the SNE website.

Sorry to waste your time Peter....and the bandwidth here. Ugh!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top