Odd shortwave interference or jamming

Status
Not open for further replies.

radioetc

Lately I have been observing some unusual interference or possibly jamming on shortwave. Bear in mind, I am an amateur's amateur at this stuff. I know a little but I am no engineer. That said, what I am observing is white noise that is repeating every 46 Khz starting ~2 Mhz through ~20 Mhz. The signal is the strongest in the ~5Mhz through about 9Mhz. No problems with LW or AM up to about 2Mhz or above 20Mhz.

To try and narrow down the pattern, I put my Tecsun PL-880 into LSB with .5K bandwidth and logged the high point of the noise as I scrolled in 1 Khz steps stating at 6739 through 7523 and each high point was exactly 46 Khz apart (though 6924 and 7155 were slight anomalies at 47 khz from the previous high point).

Any ideas of what kinds of devices could cause this? I am assuming this has to be very local. Any ideas of how to track this down?

I've tried putting a stretched out paperclip inserted into a female f to male 1/8th inch audio adapter connected into the antenna port and walking around the house and yard. But there is no real consistent nullable direction that I an determine.

Though there does seem to be increase in signal strength near electrical outlets. And yes, I disconnected power to the entire house and no change. So it sorta seems that the noise might be coming in or radiating from the neutral line. Maybe.

Again, any ideas or thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

GB46

I used to run across that kind of interference spaced at regular frequency intervals, and it was caused by TV sets in the area. But that was from older sets, especially the non-digital ones with CRT displays, which radiated heavily. Today's digital TVs cause RFI too, but I don't know about the frequency spacing, as there are no TVs in my home, or in neighbors' homes near enough for me to check it out.