ok to get next level without a callsign?

Status
Not open for further replies.

roiegat

So I'm a commercial drone pilot (FAA 107 Remote Pilot License) and attended a Search and Rescue training on December 1st. The group asked me to join them, which I did. Since they need to communicate with other first responders and search units, they asked me to study and get a HAM license. Took the test on December 14th and passed. Got my nice little paper with all the signatures on it.

My friends said they got their callsign a couple days later...it's been five days and nothing yet. Since last Friday I've been studying for the General exam since I find this stuff fascinating. At this point, I'm ready to take the test tomorrow (the 20th). Will I be allowed to take it with just the paper with the signatures I got last Friday?

roiegat

Oh yeah...about 4 times a day.

Ok will take my General tomorrow. Funny thing is I have next week off and at this rate might as well study for Extra as well.

You can test for any of the elements without a license, you just can't operate without a callsign. Have you been checking the FCC ULS search page: License Search for your name?

ko6jw_2

Premium Subscriber
First question: Did your friends take their tests at the same time and from the same VE's? Second question: Did you ask the VE's that gave the test if they submitted your paper work?

It seems that these delays are usually traceable to delays in submitting exam results to the VEC. Which VEC gave the tests? There are quite a number of them besides ARRL. Some use online submissions and others use paper submissions.

On the other hand, when I was licensed it took 8-12 weeks to receive your license and there was no URL database.

Thanks for you interest in ham radio and I hope this issue is cleared up quickly.

WRCM

Congrats on passing your Tech; good luck on the General and Extra!

roiegat