OMG, I just bought a 436HP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anderegg

Enter text in this field
Premium Subscriber
So I am very happy with my LARGE fleet of clonable and identically operating 996XT and 396XT scanners, but I NEEDED a new toy, and thought I would give the 436HP a try. I need a spare Uniden to add to a scanner over IP set-up, so huge deal.

Anyway, my current XT scanners are programmed with 6 main SYSTEMS. City PD/FD, Co PD/FD No, Co PD/FD SOo I don't use groups, but I dedicate the quick keys to these systems. I am a journalist, and I need the ability to quickly access a specific police or fire channel quickly, and find that getting only 1 system on the display, pressing hold, and scrolling is the fastest way to do this.

I want to pretty much program the 436HP the same way, I hope that is possible? Does it operate the same way system/group as the XT scanners? I was thinking create my own programming in Sentinel, then add favorites lists in lieu of stock department city RR database programming. What pitfalls or things should I be aware of before attempting to begin programming my new toy? I guess my number 1 question, and I have been searching.....are the light grey buttons at the bottom different iteration of the HOLD button? I am assuming the CHAN button is basically what the XT HOLD button was?

Paul

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Create separate favorite lists for each agency (PD, FD, etc.) and then assign quick keys to each favorite list.

UPMan

In Memoriam
Premium Subscriber
What Jon alluded to is one of the major features of the new models: A layer above system called "Favorites List" with its own FLQK and other attributes.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
So I am very happy with my LARGE fleet of clonable and identically operating 996XT and 396XT scanners, but I NEEDED a new toy, and thought I would give the 436HP a try. I need a spare Uniden to add to a scanner over IP set-up, so huge deal.