Onondaga County Trunked Reception

Status
Not open for further replies.

k2hz

Database Admin
You'll have to excuse the stupidity of this question as I am new to the whole digital scanner game. Does this mean I would be better off getting rid of these radios for something like a SDS200? Or would a Yagi be my next logical step? Again you'll have to excuse my questions. I'm maybe about 6 months into this and there is still a lot I don't understand yet, or haven't grasped the concept of.
Typical scanners can not properly demodulate simulcast P25 signals so reception is never perfect. It may be acceptable under ideal conditions for casual monitoring. So antennas and changing location may help but not fully resolve the issues.

Only 2 scanner manufacturers claim to have scanners designed to work with this type of system. The Uniden SDS100/200 do indeed properly demodulate the signal but have other design flaws, primarily overload in the presence of other strong local signals. I have a SDS100 that gives excellent reception of Monroe East and South but cuts out on Monroe West, Ontario and Genesee whenever there is a lot of activity on nearby systems.

The Unication radios use the same general design as professional P25 radios. I do not own one but all reports I have heard say performance is very good. I have strongly recommended the Unication to users in the Fire and EMS service and all seem happy with them. They are marketed as "pagers" and have some differences from a typical scanner so they may not be appropriate for someone who's primary interest is in general scanning.