Ontario Provincial Police - Niagara Detachment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thats0Brandon

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Messages
13
Location
Fort Erie, Ontario
I have seen through Broadcastify that someone is broadcasting the OPP frequencies for the Niagara Region. I'm wondering if there's anyone who knows the frequencies and everything to program it into my analog or digital radios; I'm assuming it's digital.
 

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,260
Yes it digital.

if your just interested in Niagra OPP to start. Program up the fleetnet Hamilton tower if in Hamilton area or the Niagara tower if in Niagara. Then program in both the Burlington and the Niagraa OPP TGs. that should give you the OPP you can verify your set up by comparing it against the streaming. Note that the streaming is audio delayed so pay attention.
 

Thats0Brandon

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Messages
13
Location
Fort Erie, Ontario
Yes it digital.



if your just interested in Niagra OPP to start. Program up the fleetnet Hamilton tower if in Hamilton area or the Niagara tower if in Niagara. Then program in both the Burlington and the Niagraa OPP TGs. that should give you the OPP you can verify your set up by comparing it against the streaming. Note that the streaming is audio delayed so pay attention.


Okay! I will give it a shot tonight. Do you have a recommended link?
 

Thats0Brandon

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Messages
13
Location
Fort Erie, Ontario
I am still very new to all of this. I can honestly say that I do see a bunch of frequencies that I could program; but there's no security codes weather it's PL or CC's. Also, I see Niagara Region OPP, I am just not sure how to program that into my radio. I wish someone could provide me with a codeplug to put them into my DMR radio.
 

DotNM

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
32
Location
Watchung, New Jersey
...I wish someone could provide me with a codeplug to put them into my DMR radio.
You can't put these frequencies into a DMR radio because they aren't DMR. They're Motorola Type II SmartNet, which is a completely different type of system. You'll need to get a compatible scanner to monitor it.
 

Thats0Brandon

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Messages
13
Location
Fort Erie, Ontario
You can't put these frequencies into a DMR radio because they aren't DMR. They're Motorola Type II SmartNet, which is a completely different type of system. You'll need to get a compatible scanner to monitor it.


I kind have figured as much. But that's perfectly okay. I do get a lot of traffic updates and what not from listening to Niagara's transit frequencies.


Brandon Williamson
Media Specialist
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,260
you wont get much help programing a radio to work on these frequencies. I highly suggest a scanner. This site has a lot of information on setting up a scanner.

Reading through the other sub forums will give you a good idea on the differences between P25 and DMR (Trbo). That would be very useful to help you figure out why your unit wont work and could never work. Rather than just being told it wont you would know why it wont.

You can ask questions and people here will be happy to help or explain what is what. Just try and post the question in the right forums :) .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top