ORION new DE talkgroups

Status
Not open for further replies.

nickajeglin

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 17, 2013
Messages
26
Hi all. With the events (ahem) in Omaha, I observed some new encryped talkgroups that are not listed on here:
88 [0x58]
114
113 [0x71]
704 [0x2c0]
2630

Potentially Nat. Guard? They're deployed at the moment.

I blacklisted them, and restarted my OP25 SDR system. I forgot that wiped the logs, so I'm not able to get hex data on 114 and 2630 right now.

Not sure if anyone cares, but posting here in the interest of completeness.
 

nickajeglin

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 17, 2013
Messages
26
Disregard, just searched this forum and noticed that they're already ID'd in some other threads. Do they need to be added to the main page for ORION?
 

nickajeglin

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 17, 2013
Messages
26
Yeeeah.

Probably not national guard. Apparently OPD can't find enough portables to hand out to nat. guard. A bunch are out of batteries. :ROFLMAO:

Edit: @ORION_NE, missed your reply while I was writing. Thanks for the info. Been glued to the scanner last couple nights. I thought "wow, pretty quiet tonight". Then glanced at the talkgroup log and noticed it was just all the new (to me) encrypted channels getting muted. Side note: I really appreciate you maintaning the info here. Makes configuration of my setup possible.
 

NebraskaCoder

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
293
Location
Omaha, NE
I spun up a copy of Trunk Recorder and upload the data and audio to a private server in the cloud. I have audio for every non-encrypted talk group keying up (actually, it seems to even record the encrypted crap too). I know the 113 is OPD NE Secure Dispatch. 114 and others nearby are secure dispatch channels.
 

nickajeglin

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 17, 2013
Messages
26
Very cool. I have been making some recordings to analyze to try to get my normalization and limit filter parameters dialed in. That got me wondering if it was possible to record all the talkgroups at once. Obviously it is if you're doing it.

How exactly does that work? My sdr stick doesn't have enough bandwidth to cover the whole frequency range that the system is using. Do you have to run several?
 

NebraskaCoder

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
293
Location
Omaha, NE
Yes, I use 3 dongles. I am still fiddling with the center frequencies, trying to get them to fully cover all frequencies without putting any towards the edges of coverage, as when they are on the edges, performance and reception drops. There are other SDR dongles that have better bandwidth where you probably could cover all the frequencies with just one SDR device. I haven't tried it.
 

cellphone

Silent key.
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
1,811
Location
Ahwatukee, AZ (Phoenix)
Here is a site that can help with finding center frequencies. Set the max sample rate that each SDR can handle, and paste in the frequencies from Radio Reference. It will tell you how many SDRs you will need and the center frequencies.


Here is an example for ORION Douglas County Simulcast site:

These results are based on a sample rate of 2.148

Channel Notes
Dongle 1 (Recorders needed for 100% coverage: 14)
851.28225 <-- Lowest edge of dongle based on sample rate
1 851.2375
1 851.275
1 851.5375
1 851.5625
1 851.5875
1 851.7875
1 851.950
1 852.225
1 852.35625 <-- Center Frequency For Dongle
1 852.4125
1 852.5875
1 852.7125
1 852.9625a
1 853.2125
1 853.450
1 853.475
853.43025 <-- Highest edge of dongle based on sample rate


Dongle 2 (Recorders needed for 100% coverage: 4)
852.65725 <-- Lowest edge of dongle based on sample rate
2 853.450
2 853.475
2 853.5125
2 853.700
2 853.725a
2 853.73125 <-- Center Frequency For Dongle
2 853.7625c
2 853.950a
854.80525 <-- Highest edge of dongle based on sample rate
 

NebraskaCoder

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
293
Location
Omaha, NE
I remember using that site but I think I had poor results. Could have been something else I changed. It got marginally better when I added a third dongle. I'm also in West Omaha, so my location is not optimal where I'm at.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top