Ottawa County Ohio P2 System

diamondd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
4
Location
Marblehead, Ohio
I see here at radio reference that this system has 5 frequencies for Ottawa County. But looking at the FCC license WNPO245 the FCC has 2 other frequencies listed. 854.8875 and 855.7625. Does anyone have any info on these? Thanks.
 

wd8chl

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
193
I don't remember exactly, but when they went through rebanding a little less than ten years ago now, they moved two channels and kept the other three, because the two channels were in a band segment that was going to become the new NPSPAC segment. So those might be the old channels? I could be wrong...
 

Whiskey3JMC

Keep your friends close & your radios closer
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
5,351
Location
Land of Wawa & cheesesteaks
I see here at radio reference that this system has 5 frequencies for Ottawa County. But looking at the FCC license WNPO245 the FCC has 2 other frequencies listed. 854.8875 and 855.7625. Does anyone have any info on these? Thanks.
Are these two active? Just because they're listed on the license doesn't guarantee they're utilized
 

HoytKlagwell

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51
I have those extra 2 frequencies in both my G5 and my 996P2 and don't recall ever seeing them being used. Thinking back I've never seen them show up when I've used Proscan with the 996 logging things.
 

kf8yk

Member
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
625
They may be using these extra frequencies for simplex/talkaround operations or just keeping them for future system expansion.

The rules for 800 MHz (90.621) allow simplex operations on any of the repeater outputs without explicitly licensing them for such use.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
7,470
Location
Annapolis
Those two frequencies were added to the license in 2017 and have an ERP of 125W vs 347W of the other five channels. They probably reduced power because of potential interference concerns with another licensee in Ann Arbor. The county did confirm that the channels were in use in a letter to the FCC in 2018.
 

diamondd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
4
Location
Marblehead, Ohio
Those two frequencies were added to the license in 2017 and have an ERP of 125W vs 347W of the other five channels. They probably reduced power because of potential interference concerns with another licensee in Ann Arbor. The county did confirm that the channels were in use in a letter to the FCC in 2018.
OK, thanks. Has anyone heard anything on these? I will put them in and see. Thanks again.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
7,470
Location
Annapolis
It is a bit odd. As this is a Harris system, typically any channel can be used as a control channel - but not always. I'm not sure I would want to assign a lower power channel in a control channel rotation. I'm thinking they are not and are only assigned traffic when all other channels are busy, a reserve of sorts. If you had Procom96, SDRTrunk or Unitrunker and a cheap SDR, you could check control channel data to see if the frequencies are ever used or available as a control channel. In any event, it won't hurt to add them to your programming.
 

wd8chl

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
193
I'm definitely wrong about those being the old channels, fwiw. The old channels would have been down in the 851-854 area. So maybe those are in the new channels?
 

wd8chl

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
193
Looking closer at the license, I'm thinking they want to add two channels to the system, so it goes from 5 ch to 7 ch. Maybe...
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
7,470
Location
Annapolis
There is a letter in the file from 2018 attesting that those channels are now in use - the licensee forgot to file the proper paperwork and the FCC was threatening to pull the channels
 

ctpd845

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
422
Location
Martin, Ohio
After reading this, I decided to let Unitrunker and Pro96Com run on this site for the past several weeks. I found that 855.7625 is used in place of 855.5375. 854.8875 was not used at all. I also noticed that both Unitrunker and Pro96Com listed 855.3875 as the control and 854.3625 as the alternate. I'm pretty sure the last time I monitored this system with either program, it listed all 5 frequencies as alternates. I did submit this change to the database.
 
Top