P25 Phase 1 (APCO-25) Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

junktrunk317

Premium Subscriber
HI Guys,

I'm new to scanners and need a little help. I purchased a Uniden bcd996p2 to monitor my area (Canadian Co.). I'm running the stock antenna and I can pick up the P25 Phase 2 talkgroups with no issues, however when I try to monitor the P25 Phase 1 (APCO-25) I don't seem to pick up much at all. I have my trunk frequencies set to the Oklahoma City frequencies and the map here on RR shows that I'm within range of the broadcasting tower. I do understand that some of these talkgroups will be encrypted and not decodable and I image there are a lot of talkgroup traffic on these frequencies causing Simulcast Distortion. I'm using freeSCAN to program my scanner and even when I program just a single agency talkgroups utilizing the OKC frequencies I'm not picking up much of anything and I end up just listening to dead air.

I do have a new 5db gain indoor antenna coming in and also purchased a 15db gain signal booster for the 5Mhz-1Ghz range, thinking maybe the signal just isn't strong enough, but I don't know.

I don't have a permeant location for the scanner, I like moving it between the living room, the bedroom, the garage and to my desk for programming so I'm trying not to put an antenna in my attic and fish and terminate the cables runs through my walls.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

tvengr

Well Known Member
If you attach your Oklahoma City FreeSCAN programming file, I will check it for problems. You will have to right click on the file and Send to Compressed (zipped) folder to be able to attach it. Click on Attach files and Open the zipped file. Oklahoma City is entirely Phase 2.

junktrunk317

Premium Subscriber