• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

P7200 face plate swap

Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
174
Location
South Texas
#1
I have a scan model P7200. I also have a brand new system model face plate. If I switch the faces, how will I get RPM to see the radio as a system model, instead of scan?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
413
#2
You would just select "P7200 System" in the radio type drop down in RPM. That would be of course after you managed to get the radio itself to switch to a system model configuration,which isn't likely to happen.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
174
Location
South Texas
#3
You would just select "P7200 System" in the radio type drop down in RPM. That would be of course after you managed to get the radio itself to switch to a system model configuration,which isn't likely to happen.
Why wouldn’t it be likely? What else would I have to do other than selecting P7200 System?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
413
#4
The radio requires a hyperterminal command to tell it that it is a P7200 System model beforehand. That info isn't publicly known.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
2,878
Location
Hubert, NC
#6
I've been looking and the folks that know aren't sharing. From what I can tell, the feature string relies on the serial number, so if you change the serial number, then the feature string would more than likely have to change to retain the features that you currently have in the radio. I would imagine that the serial number would change from A400420xxxxx (Scan model) to A400410xxxxx (System model). I could be wrong as I'm just speculating. If the hyper-terminal command doesn't involve changing the serial number, then it shouldn't affect the features.

I gave up and ordered some NOS P7100 Scan models from Ebay for $10 each and swapped the cases, so now I have brand new looking P7200's in P7100 cases. They function great and the only thing that is different is the front label. There really is no need for the full keypad as the limited scan model has all the functions that you'd need.
 

cifd64

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
576
Location
Northern Passaic County, NJ
#7
Rescue is correct. Feature data is based on serial number. The process for changing from scan to system is not going to happen here. it is a lab tool used in Lynchburg, and they aint telling anyone. You can pay $$$$$ to have it done. The question you have to ask yourself is, is it worth it?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
174
Location
South Texas
#8
I figured it would be some hyperterminal command to make the change. I have a brand new P7200 system face plate and a P7200 scan model that's seen some action out on the field. I want to change it so it looks better in the gang charger collecting dust. I recently did a scan to system change on a P7100 VHF P25, and it was painless; change tracking data, select P7100 System in RPM, program.
 
Top