Patched TGs

Status
Not open for further replies.

mejnetguru

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
84
Location
NoVA
Question:

I notice a-lot of patches on my local P25 system. Even though I have only one talkgroup in a scanlist, I of course will get all the patched traffic. Thing is, the scanner shows the "patch" indication AND the patched talkgroup ID. Is there some way to have the scanner only pass the TG I programmed and not any patched TG. The scanner obviously knows the patched TG number, can it not be used as the filter?

I say this as the County is so disrespectful of scanner users (hahaha) by often patching through TAC groups that are encrypted. So I get a lot of "stops" on traffic I don't care about/can't hear. So I then miss "real" traffic while it's stopped unnecessarily.

Possible? Enhancement request?
 

AggieCon

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Messages
1,448
Location
Texas
No. The calls are broadcast to both talkgroups. It's either all or none. If you look at the control channel log, you can learn more about the commands that are sent to the radio. The only way might be to limit your list to specific Radio IDs.

It's something like this:

CC says: if you are affiliated with talkgroup 1 and/or talkgroup 2, you need to tune to voice channel 2 and receive the broadcast.

It's not: Hey so and so on talkgroup 1 is calling and you are on talkgroup 2, so you need to listen to this voice channel, because you are patched in.

The patch is the audience not the source.
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
5,513
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
P25 isn't normally used here in europe. I think there is only one system, in poland, so I don't know anything about it. But other Motorola system and Tetra are doing this when patching TGs:

If TG1 are patched to TG2 the system sends out periodicly and when affiliating that TG1 and TG2 are now converted to TG32000.
No calls are broadcasted to TG1 and TG2 and are only received from TG32000.

/Ubbe
 

mejnetguru

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
84
Location
NoVA
I think there may be some confusion. I get how patching works but what I'm seeing is:

Say I'm monitoring TG 0001.
The TG is patched with TG 0002 by the TRS at such and such time.
When a call on TG 0002 comes in, my scanner reads "Patch" and displays 0002 (not 0001).

Since the scanner obviously can see the 0002 is the "real" TG being sent down from the CC is sending it down as part of the patch, it should be able to ignore it since I'm not "scanning" for it even though 0001 is also in the patch.

Make sense?
 

AggieCon

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Messages
1,448
Location
Texas
The control channel is doing one of two things:

Sending commands for radios assigned to either talkgroup to tune in.

Or creating a third talkgroup, which the radios are told to temporarily tune into when it is active.

The call is on the patch. The audience is the patch. It's either listen to call broadcast to the patch audience or listen to no call at all.

Watch the CC stream on DSD+ sometime.
 

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,900
Location
Colorado
I think there may be some confusion. I get how patching works but what I'm seeing is:

Say I'm monitoring TG 0001.
The TG is patched with TG 0002 by the TRS at such and such time.
When a call on TG 0002 comes in, my scanner reads "Patch" and displays 0002 (not 0001).

Since the scanner obviously can see the 0002 is the "real" TG being sent down from the CC is sending it down as part of the patch, it should be able to ignore it since I'm not "scanning" for it even though 0001 is also in the patch.

Make sense?
There is no way to differentiate and pick out the traffic like you are suggesting. When the system patches TGs, the CC message tells all of the radios to use a specific TG (such as TG 2 in your example). This means that all radios that were set to use TG 1 will now use TG 2 for all transmissions for the duration of the patch.

The scanner is showing the patch message to let you know that it is monitoring a different TG because it recognizes that the TG you are listening to has been patched to a different TG. There is no way for any scanner, or an actual system radio, to know what TG the radio was originally set to. That would kind of be counterproductive to why they were patched in the first place.

For example:
Radio A is set to TG 1.
Radio Z is set to TG 2.
  1. Radio A talks on TG 1.
  2. Radio Z talks on TG 2.
  3. TG 1 is then patched to TG 2.
  4. Radio A talks on TG 2.
  5. Radio Z talks on TG 2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top