PDW bogus data

Status
Not open for further replies.

charlieone

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
77
Location
Washington
Hey all.

I've been noticing that after 12-24 hours of running PDW the decoding percentage drops off to 60% or less. After a fresh re-start of the computer, not just PDW, I get 100% decode again.

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm looking for a better solution that just restarting the computer every day.
 

Attachments

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Just curious why you monitor pager traffic?. It's not legal and pretty stupid in my opinion.
 

tampabaynews

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,224
Location
Tampa, FL
Ah, the Self Appointed Radio Reference Police....

I could never get it to work for me, but I do know from others that the success rate depends on reception and possibly what you have going on in the background of your computer. Try adjusting/upgrading your antenna or using a dedicated computer.
 

TEKurtz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
96
Location
Hartford County, CT
He's correct, I had previously looked up this topic and found it's illegal to monitor a telephone call, pager traffic and anything encrypted.
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,654
Location
Connecticut
Definately sounds like a computer issue rather than a PDW issue. Is it new to your setup or has it happened since you started using PDW? You could bump PDW back a version fairly easily, but be sure to save your filter file as they are not compatible between versions. The other way would be to shut down Windows programs until you did not run into a problem. Other than those suggestions, I can't help you.

chris
 

charlieone

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
77
Location
Washington
Definately sounds like a computer issue rather than a PDW issue. Is it new to your setup or has it happened since you started using PDW? You could bump PDW back a version fairly easily, but be sure to save your filter file as they are not compatible between versions. The other way would be to shut down Windows programs until you did not run into a problem. Other than those suggestions, I can't help you.

chris
It's not a particularly new phenomenon, but I have noticed it happening in 24 hours more frequently. The computer also hosts a couple of audio feeds. It might be time to dedicate a computer...
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,654
Location
Connecticut
I like the Thin Clients for dedicated radio stuff. They are relatively cheap and almost always have real serial ports for something like a 4 level decoder.

chris
 

dcr_inc

Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
642
Location
Delta, Pa
The "garbage" pages you are getting are due to the input level being either too high or low.. Another issue is noise on the paging channel.. If the freq is shared with another carrier or is site selective, you could be trying to decode a noisey signal..Usually the level is too high..

As for decoding being legal.. It is if you are decoding a Public Safety paging system..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top