SDR# Picking up local frequencies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcroy

Wasn't sure how to title this.

I bought a rtlsdr using the dipole antenna and can use it to listen to fm radios and unencrypted radio frequencies in a large city.

I'm in a new area that uses a digital system (RI) and struggling to find some digital frequencies. Does anyone have any pointers or tips? I'm new to sdr and radios stuff.

I'm struggling to see if my lack of sound is due to lack of transmissions or due to poor receiver positioning. Is there a website that tracks active vs non active times so I can figure out when is a good time to tune in? It's for a personal coding project as opposed to content.

morfis

Country would be a hude help. For America then the databases here on radioreference would be a good starting point.
For other countries local scanner bulletin boards or official systems (such as the UK WTR...though that should only be regarded as a rough guide).
use the rtl device as a scanner and search the spectrum for active frequencies...look at the active ones to see what kind of traffic is on them - loads of websites, such as Signal Identification Wiki - to help you identify the digital modulation waveforms.

With more information people more local to you might be able to offer more targetted guidance.

Markb

Premium Subscriber
Seeing the "(RI)" in your post, I am assuming this is the system you are trying to monitor:

Try tuning in the blue and/or red frequencies and see if you can hear the control channel. Also adjust the gain and see if that makes a difference.
Do you have any digital decoding software set up? If not, all you're going to hear is noise.....

Carter911

I, also, am a newbie, but I'll share a few thoughts.

Check out the RTL-SDR.com website as one starting point.
It has a "Quick Start" guide tab, and a (lengthy) list of software and the platforms they run on, (Win, Linux, Mac, etc.).