• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

PL-259 Coax Coupler

Status
Not open for further replies.

dkscism

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2010
Messages
8
Hello all, I'm still in the process of setting up my CB Base station and have a quick question regarding coax. I've estimated the length needed to the best of my ability. If I get coax that is not long enough, would using a coupler similar to the one pictured below to extend the length hurt performance at all?
 

Attachments

movinon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
140
Location
Oklahoma
No problem I have them on my mobile hf station and several scanners.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
 

TxDoc

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
17
Location
TEXAS
I use one on my SWR merger pigtail. They are fine.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,929
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
If you use quality stuff, there isn't a problem.

Each connector results in a little bit of additional loss, but it's fractional. In an ideal world you'd avoid them, but it's unlikely you'd notice.
If it ends up outside, just make sure you waterproof properly.
 

n5ims

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
3,689
Hello all, I'm still in the process of setting up my CB Base station and have a quick question regarding coax. I've estimated the length needed to the best of my ability. If I get coax that is not long enough, would using a coupler similar to the one pictured below to extend the length hurt performance at all?
The totally honest answer is yes, it will hurt performance, but that isn't really the question you're really attempting to answer. The additional connectors, barrel connector, and coax will indeed add some loss.
If you have sensitive enough testing equipment you could probably detect a slight bit of additional loss. Since your real question isn't "hurt performance at all", but "hurt performance enough to notice", that answer is no, it won't hurt performance enough for you to notice.

Think of it this way, you have a swimming pool nearly full of water, hundreds of not thousands of gallons of water. You fill a gallon bucket with water and dump that into the pool, can you detect any change in the water level? Obviously the pool now has more water than before, but is enough to notice? Most certainly not.

Now if instead of the implied addition of a few short feet of similar coax, you add a long piece of coax, and/or if that additional coax is very high loss crap, all bets are off.
 

mrweather

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
913
If you're using crappy coax to begin with, the barrel connector is the least of your worries.
 

dkscism

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2010
Messages
8
Thanks for all the input everyone! hopefully I wont need the connector, but now I understand it's an option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top