• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Please help me program before I pass out here!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

FNG

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
9
Hello everyone!

I have a BCT8 and I just got hired on at the city of Rocky Mount,NC Fire department. (excited as hell!!!...My dream job!!!) I was just thinking since I am bored, that I would set up my scanner so I could start following the radio traffic. Our entire city is on 800 Mhz and I just stuck all the freqs I had into the scanner as regular channels. Well I'm hearing everything from the PD to the garbage trucks to the damned city busses!!! HAHA.... I found this page http://www.radioreference.com/modules.php?name=RR&sid=2948
but with the manual for my scanner, it just doesn't quite make sense....can someone please help me through it?
 

captclint

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
2,448
Location
Mountaintop, PA
I am not an expert in Mot II systems, so this is only to get you started reading the manual in the right place. What you need is on Page 30-33. You need to set the the bank (any bank will do) for E2 (Mot II -800 mhz). Then you can enter all the frequencies listed for the system using "M" trunk type for each freq. I would enter in the 1st freq in the 1st channel in the bank in the exact order listed.

Then, you can enter the Type 2 talk group ID's. Then set your scanner to scan in the ID Scan mode, and you should only hear the public safety groups that you entered.

If you still have problems, someone with more experience can step in with specific help,

John_M is right...all this is much easier with software.
 
Last edited:

FNG

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
9
which of those numbers on that page are the type 2 ID's? and how do I put them in correctly?
 

FNG

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
9
I have ARC8 (demo) and also IDTracker, and of course, the software that came with it.
 

John_M

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
1,486
Location
Rochester, N.Y.
FNG said:
which of those numbers on that page are the type 2 ID's? and how do I put them in correctly?
The TG ID's are listed on the bottem along with the Text Tag you should enter. Remember for Type II systems all fleetmaps should be set to 00.
 
Last edited:

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
John_M said:
The TG ID's are listed on the bottem along with the Text Tag you should enter. Remember for Type II systems all fleetmaps should be set to 00.
The default for a type II motorola should already be zero.
 

FNG

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
9
I have put in all the freqs, and i put in all those hex numbers....but i'm just not sure i've done it right. I have it scanning now, but i cant get it to show "id scan"...it just does PVT scan...I'm quickly loosing my hair here!!!! :D
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
FNG said:
I have put in all the freqs, and i put in all those hex numbers....but i'm just not sure i've done it right. I have it scanning now, but i cant get it to show "id scan"...it just does PVT scan...I'm quickly loosing my hair here!!!! :D
Only put the decimal numbers, not hex. Have you tried just using ID search to see if the radio will track your system?
 

FNG

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
9
Yeah..I mean DEC....not HEX.....I cant get the ID search to work...I swear I'm following what the manual says the best I can...but it seems kinda vague...
 

captclint

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
2,448
Location
Mountaintop, PA
Trunking is not easy. You are expecting instant success. Try to take it easy. Have you pushed the "Trunk" button, and then selected PVT?
 

FNG

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
9
Yes sir...I guess it's searching now...because it's stopping and flashing ID's that I haven't entered.... I'm sorry if I come across as expecting instant success...didn't mean to, but I have a vast knowlege of electronics, radios, pc's , scanners and such...My Call sign is KI4HDW...just wasn't expecting this to be so hard to understand....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top