• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

PM1500 Blowing Fuses

BlueDevil

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
732
Location
WA
I have a Motorola PM1500 that is blowing the inline power fuse every time the power is connected to the radio. This started occurring after the truck that the radio is in was jump started. I am thinking that something was damaged within the radio causing the positive connection to go to ground when connected to the radio and therefore blowing the fuse. This is only occurring on the main radio unit. The remote head is powering up fine, although it goes into maintenance mode since it isn’t establishing a connection to the main radio.

Does anyone have any suggestion or ideas on what to check first? How about a service manual for the PM1500 VHF High Band High Power.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
16,579
Location
From the land of sky blue waters!
There's usually a protection diode on the incoming power lead. It dumps everything to ground and will pop the fuse if it got hit with reverse polarity.

Would be an easy check. They are usually a large diode near where the power input leads attach to the circuit board. Likely you'll find a big scorch mark to assist in proper location/identification.

Usually replacing the diode fixes the issue.
 

RFI-EMI-GUY

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2013
Messages
4,782
There is generally a reverse polarity diode mounted right where power enters the radio. If the jump start was wrong polarity or excessive voltage the diode likely shorted. There could be more serious damage beyond that diode. I would locate that diode, remove it. Test the radio with a current limiting power supply. If the radio is OK replace the diode with new.
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,529
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
Before jump starting a vehicle the main power cord should always be disconnected on any motorola radio.
The motorola radio cpu is always online waiting for the power button to be pushed to initiate powering up.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
16,579
Location
From the land of sky blue waters!
Usually the diodes go catastrophically. Looks OK in the photo, but that doesn't mean it is. Make sure your power cables are good.
If you are not finding it and have ruled out the power up to the connection to the back of the radio, it's probably worth sending it in for repair.
 

nhfdcadet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
328
Location
New Hartford, Ct
Usually the diodes go catastrophically. Looks OK in the photo, but that doesn't mean it is. Make sure your power cables are good.
If you are not finding it and have ruled out the power up to the connection to the back of the radio, it's probably worth sending it in for repair.
I had one go in a vertex radio once and the radio started smoking, so you arent kidding there
 

com501

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
1,434
Location
127.0.0.1
Astro25 radios are end of life, not supported at factory. A local repair shop if you are not good with electronics might be your best bet.
 
Top