Port Authority System & BCD536HP

Status
Not open for further replies.

t13one12

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
62
Location
Hudson County, NJ
I was reading in some threads that you should avoid having multiple sites for the same system. For Port Authority, I know they have 3 separate sites. I am on the NJ side of the Hudson and can get a great signal from Site 01. Would I lose anything but not putting Sites 2 and 3 in? I want to be able to listen to JFK radio traffick and I wasn't sure it it would wind up coming out on the Simulcast Site 1.
 

N2SCV

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Above ground
I was reading in some threads that you should avoid having multiple sites for the same system. For Port Authority, I know they have 3 separate sites. I am on the NJ side of the Hudson and can get a great signal from Site 01. Would I lose anything but not putting Sites 2 and 3 in? I want to be able to listen to JFK radio traffick and I wasn't sure it it would wind up coming out on the Simulcast Site 1.
I'm in S.I. and program the Simulcast system, no problems hearing all agencies.
 
Last edited:

MTACOP

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
179
Location
Neptune,City
I too program simulcast and have pretty good coverage between S.I./Downtown Brooklyn, Midtown and into NJ along the NJT.
 

LIScanner101

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
1,427
Location
Hicksville, Long Island, NY
I'm not sure why there is so much talk on the numerous x36HP threads about poor simulcast reception. It seems that programming-in more than one site causes the scanner to try to receive the same CC frequency from more than one antenna tower resulting in multipath distortion. However, some people (as on this thread) are doing just that and having no issues whatsoever. Strange…..
 

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,846
Location
Bletchley Park
It seems that programming-in more than one site causes the scanner to try to receive the same CC frequency from more than one antenna tower resulting in multipath distortion. However, some people (as on this thread) are doing just that and having no issues whatsoever. Strange…..
? Not sure I understand. In a simulcast zone (set of sites), all sites transmit identical transmissions. To the radio (including actual system radios), a set of simulcast sites is just one site with really large coverage.
You can have several simulcast zones (independent sets of simulcast sites), but they will have different frequencies if they are near each other.

You don't "program" the individual sites in a simulcast zone - you program the zone's frequencies. Capture effect and overlap determine what physical RF transmitters your radio hears.
 

N2MWE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
2,462
Location
New York State, Land of King Putz
I think the OP is referring to the fact it is an EDACS system. I have used the 536 and 436 on the networked EDACS system in Dutchess and Orange with no problem. It should work fine for the PAPD
 

dpcain

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,400
Location
MD
Correct me if I'm wrong, but just for clarity, I think the topic is getting confused (and maybe the initial post as well) with CQPSK linear simulcast modulation issues presented by wide-area simulcast P25 Phase I systems for scanner users. As N2MWE said, that shouldn't be an issue, since it's an EDACS system and nothing on EDACS uses quadrature-type modulation, even ProVoice.
 

t13one12

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
62
Location
Hudson County, NJ
Quick report back - I set the other two sites to avoid and there seems to be sufficient coverage on the Simulcast tower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top