POSCAG Freqs?

WRQS621

Banned
Banned
Complete newb question (or I havent had a pager in 25 years); I noticed AMZN had the Alpha pager. The pager only lists the UHF band, the OEM website list VHF, UHF, and 900 Mhz bands. Are the pager multi-band or do you have to find a VHF for Wake?

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
Complete newb question (or I havent had a pager in 25 years); I noticed AMZN had the Alpha pager. The pager only lists the UHF band, the OEM website list VHF, UHF, and 900 Mhz bands. Are the pager multi-band or do you have to find a VHF for Wake?
You need a VHF POCSAG (NOT FLEX) pager that receives 155.520. I recommend Apollo Pagers.

OnYourSix

NY --> NC
Premium Subscriber
There are two models available directly from Apollo. They both are about $128.00 each. They will send you a bill and you can pay them directly. Or you can try and wait for one to come up on eBay. The Unication alpha pagers need a programmer, the Apollo devices can be programmed by the buttons on the front of the pager.

Attachments

• IMG_1940.jpeg
    IMG_1940.jpeg
    56.3 KB · Views: 26

OnYourSix

NY --> NC
Premium Subscriber
I got the GP2009n version from Alliexpress. It was about $62. Took weeks to come in. Seems to be rechargeable. It works. Many thanks to guys on this thread for helping me out. Pretty cool, I must admit.
I was looking at that pager. Couldn’t find it in VHF. I feel like the display I have it too small, and calls are cut off.

WRQS621

Banned
Banned
I tried to get PDW to work with my VC's and SDR#. Ugh. Until, I stumbled across this:

GitHub - Dustify/SdrSharpPocsagPlugin: POCSAG decoder plugin for SDR# / SDR Sharp

There was thread in RR several years ago talking about this

SDR# - SDRSharp Pocsag Plugin

If your are running the latest edition of SDR#, this plugin make decoding very, very easy. I set my filter (3 numbers on the upper right) to 10, 25, 10. With wrap text and hide bad decode checked. Worked flawlessly.

Try it out.