Possible to control scanner via internet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

trainerman

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
113
Location
California
Hi,

I have a Uniden BCT15 in one area of my house that I would like to be able to control from another part of the house by my internet connected laptop. I have heard that this is possible by software, but what software and how?

Thanks for your time!
 

SonicN

Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
132
Hi,

I have a Uniden BCT15 in one area of my house that I would like to be able to control from another part of the house by my internet connected laptop. I have heard that this is possible by software, but what software and how?

Thanks for your time!
I don't know your radio, but if you got software that can control your radio, just install this, and hook it up to your radio. Then use "remote desktop", use another computer, log on to the computer that you radio is hooked up to, and voìla...
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
5,833
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Hi,

I have a Uniden BCT15 in one area of my house that I would like to be able to control from another part of the house by my internet connected laptop. I have heard that this is possible by software, but what software and how?

Thanks for your time!
My program, ProScan can do exactly this with streaming audio. The 30 day demo is fully functional.

www.proscan.org
 

brandon

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,490
Location
SoCal
Yep. I second the ProScan choice. This is by far the best and easiest method for controlling your radio.
 

smason

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
1,117
Location
Alberta Canada, Eh!
I use Proscan for this, and not only can I control/listen from any computer on the net, I can also use it's web server and stream it on my iPhone, no control, but great audio.
 

trainerman

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
113
Location
California
Re:

Thanks for all the replies and help. So if I go with Proscan will I be the only one who can view and control the scanner or can anyone with the ip address view/control it?
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
5,833
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Thanks for all the replies and help. So if I go with Proscan will I be the only one who can view and control the scanner or can anyone with the ip address view/control it?
Yes and No. If the ProScan server and client are on the same home network and you don't setup the router port forwarding, then only the server can be accessed from within the home network.

If the router port forwarding is setup to allow ProScan traffic on the port specified, then any one can access it provided they know the IP address and port.
 

N2JDS

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
379
Location
St. Peters, Mo
As a free alternative, I use logmein.com
They have a free version. When you log in, it's just like being logged into your computer that scanner is running through, then you just open up your software to do whatever you want to. This will work from anywhere in the world into your computer. I've reprogrammed mine and changed setting while at work many times.
St. Charles Countywide EMS, Fire, and Law Live Scanner Audio Feed
 

trainerman

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
113
Location
California
Thanks for all the great suggestions and help! I have decided to stick with my Uniden software and use the free service, logmein.com for controlling my desktop service remotely. Great stuff...thanks for the suggestions about using remote desktop control.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top