• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Power

Status
Not open for further replies.

Muxlow

Super Secret
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,400
Location
Middlesex County
This is a rather dumb question that im sure i already know what the replys will be.. But who knows:)

Im having a hell of a time finding a power supply to run my orion inside.. and transmitt on it. As of now i can have it on and working.. just cant transmitt with it.

Sooo.. WOuld it be "possible" to grab a good ole 12 volt wall charger, snip the end off and wire it up to the radio with out it blowing up? :) haha
 

Muxlow

Super Secret
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,400
Location
Middlesex County
I cant get an account.. Thats the problemo or els i would of had me one.. Really would like the consol.. Even if it is the MDX
 

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
Wall charger will not cut it not enough current available for transmit maybe not even enough for receive.
You can't get an ebay account so buy one locally surely there are two way radio shops in the UK.
 

Muxlow

Super Secret
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,400
Location
Middlesex County
lol Yeah
My local macom shop for some reason dont want to sell to private people.. or not me anyways. Dont know why.. If anyone knows the location of the macom dealer for London do tell.. Been trying to find them. Or.. who ever gave LPS their radios. Hope it's not the same place here in chatham kent...

Thames communications does Essex, CK and Lambton county i know of.. not sure if they cover elgin and middlesex or not
 

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
What do I know, I assumed, shame on me, twice, to verify the OPs location I looked at his public profile page, and one of the web links was london paintball, so I did it again, of course now I realize that there is also a London Ontario, :roll: so sorry.
Any way there are other places to get your power supply, order an Astron from Radioworld in Toronto, it doesn't need to be a Ma Com " official part"
 

rmiles

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2003
Messages
235
I wasn't trying to bust your chops.:D It was just to point out the proper location. Like, Umm, I think you mean...
 

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
Since I am from the US we never had to learn Canadian geography, I know the basic stuff like Nova Scotia is southeast, and British Columbia is west and the Yukon is northwest, after all when I went to school Canada was a place to go if you didn't want to go to Viet Nam.
 

w0fg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
462
Location
Decorah, IA
Any decent ham radio dealer in Canada, or one in the US who will ship to Canada, will have a suitable supply. Astron, Samlex, and MFJ all make 10-20 amp 12v supplies.
 
L

LS1_TA

Guest
Try a car battery in parallel with that battery charger or even a motorcycle battery if your charger will provide the correct current.
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,144
You can get a 12V7AH battery for less than $20; and also get a 1 amp regulated charger with wall wart, about $20 (They use them for alarm systems a lot) and it will run your radio fine. The battery gives you the current needed (10-15 Amps) to transmit because it is an intermittent load, with the added advantage of keeping your radio working for awhile if the power goes off. It's easy to hide it under a desk or something, the battery is sealed so no worries there. A little cheaper than a 15 or 20 amp supply.
 

Muxlow

Super Secret
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,400
Location
Middlesex County
Ok. Ill try that one out. I did use to use a small car battery... But didnt keep it inside for to long. That worked good.. Now that battery is dead dead dead. Junk yard mayne for a cheep one.

But ill try out Thayne's idea
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top