Premium Subscription Features?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
10
Location
Lake View NY
I'm interested in the Radio Reference.com subscription for Premium Subscription http://www.radioreference.com/apps/subscription/
With my new Uniden 396 on the way to help me program it. BUT...When I try to click on the samples for Premium Subscription Features on the website above they do not work. Please let me know if or when they can be fixed or send me samples to help me decide. Also I can not log in to the website with my free membership. It acts like I don't enter my my user name and pass word when I try. (no errors) I even tried to have my pass word reset via e-mail and it acts like it works with no errors but still can not log in to the main website.
Today I can get log in to this area (Forums) only of the website (not the main Radioreference.com pages) after days of trying and not being able to but only after I reset my pass word if that helps
 

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,439
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
The biggest benefit of the premium subscription is being able to download directly from the database. It will save you alot of time and aggravation, not to mention if you are going on a road trip you can download the area or area's in just a short amount of time. Good Scannin Hoser
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
10
Location
Lake View NY
Thank you for the reply and info. I know that is saves lots of time and effort. I'm not sure how it works though is more what I would like to learn before I send my money in. Kinda want to join and know what I'm going to do with my membership instead of paying for one then learning how to use-my membership. Like how to get the data I would like in my radio step by step would be perfect. LOL What I was referring to AlabamaRS, I can not log in to this part of the website
http://www.radioreference.com/apps/account/
But can log in to this part today.."The RadioReference.com Forums"
http://www.radioreference.com/forums
area after days of trying and only after I reset my password like I have tried in the past.


Joe Foe from Buffalo :)
 

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,439
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
While you are looking around check out the database and the Wiki has alot of good information on alot of scanners and scanner related stuff. You can access it from the top bar. Hoser
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Joe,

Well this happens from time to time, the password problem that is; as for the subscription let me direct you to the Wiki where the more up-to-date information is available. You can get the subscription page by clicking the link. That however will not fix the sample problem as I just noticed that the samples there lead to a dead links. <sigh>

As to the password problem, when you are here in the forums and click on the link up on the blue bar that says "Your Account", where do you go? Clicking it "should" bring you to your "General Account" information. On that tab, you should be able to set the password for both the main site and forums. Now, as to original problem, what is it that makes you think that you are not logged into the main part of the site (the database area)?
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Update

Joe,

As an update, the Wiki page I linked above is now being depreciated in favor of the original link you tried. The examples are now working on the main site page.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
10
Location
Lake View NY
Thank you, the example links are now working. Sadly that are just examples of data that I'm sure makes sense to ones that understand waht to do with it. I still would like to know how paying for the service it will help me before I pay for it. Ya I know it mentions what it can do for me as I pasted below. But I would like to know how it will or how I will make it do the stuff it say it will.

" In addition to the below special reporting features and search functions for the database, Premium Subscribers also have access to the RadioReference.com Web Service, which allows numerous programming applications to access the database directly, providing an easy to use process for programming scanners and communications equipment with data directly from the RadioReference Database. See the Web Service Application Support section for a list of applications that directly support this valuable Web Service."
 

ke5fgc

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
108
Location
Tyler, TX
Above all the Premium Membership supports the ongoing development of this website...

I do like the web downloads, they save lots of time when programming the scanner for short trips.
 

firefighter89

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Startex, SC
If you get the software and cable for your scanner you can program it with your computer. Having a premium subscription allows you to download the information directly from the database into the software, then upload it to the scanner.
 

CQRover

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
3
How to do Paypal?

I want to get the Premium Sub using my VISA account. I click the link, it takes me to PayPal. What do I do next? I have clicked everything there (I think) but see no way to complete the purchase. There is a page of merchants that use Paypal and I did a search for RR, but came up empty. I probably just need more coffee, but let me know how you did it.

73 es TNX,

Bill KW8KW
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
10
Location
Lake View NY
Hmm? I'm sent me a e-mail to reset my password and I click on the link in hte e-mail it allows me to reset it and asks me to click another link to log in with my new password and it still doesn't let me log in....But allow me to log in to the fourms area of the website.

Date: Mon, 24 Mar 2008 16:07:57 -0500
To: joefoefrombuffalo@yahoo.xyz.123
Subject: RadioReference.com Password Reset
From: admin@radioreference.com Add Mobile Alert

Dear Joe_Foe_from_Buffalo (joefoefrombuffalo@yahoo.xyz.123)

You requested a password reset for your account with username:
Joe_Foe_from_Buffalo. Please visit the following link to change your password
for your account:

http://www.radioreference.com/apps/account/?action=doPw&u=Joe_Foe_from_Buffalo...xyz..123 = (not the link I was sent to protect my account if it links it to it and some one else can change my password)

Sincerely,

The RadioReference.com Admin Team
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Joe:

Take the reset information that you have and go to the following three sites and log out if you are shown to be logged-in:
http://www.radioreference.com/
http://www.radioreference.com/forums/
http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Main_Page

Then revisit each site and log in again, making sure that your log in name shows in the appropriate spot on each page. If you are successful in this then there is nothing to log into on the subscription page at the RR site.

If on the other hand, you have trouble either logging out or logging back in on any one of the three sites, then go into your cookie storage area on your computer and find any cookie that references radioreference.com and delete it. If this is what you have to do, then go to each site and log in again to establish new cookies.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
10
Location
Lake View NY
I deleated all my cookies.
I can not log in to this one
http://www.radioreference.com/
Acts like I didn't try ot log in (no errors)

I can log in to this one
http://www.radioreference.com/forums/

This one I see no place to log in
http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Main_Page
But do see a link @ the top right hand side of the page to log in which takes me to this page
http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php?title=Special:Userlogin&returnto=Main_Page
That I also can no log in to and get this error
"Login error:There is no user by the name "Joe_Foe_from_Buffalo". Check your spelling, or create a new account. "

Edit:...FYI I am a member and or subscribe to many other websites with no problems which makes me think it's some thing on this website.
 
Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,065
Location
Bowie, Md.
At least with the wiki, as documented in another thread, there's a glitch that the wiki does not like user names with underscores. The current user list has nothing for 'Joe_Foe' ect.

Can't help with the site signons. However, you are able to post a message, so you must have at least registered. 73 Mike
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
If all else fails why not create a new account. Use a different names and subscribe that way. I would at least see if that works, if it doesn't then I think it's a problem with your browser or configuration.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top