Present day computer program for Icom R-7100

Status
Not open for further replies.

woebbers

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
257
Location
Valley Forge Pa
Hi gang,

Is there a present day way to hook up a computer to a R-7100? And if there is can get some help setting one up?

thanks
Sal
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,911
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

Usb to serial adapter, and use the traditional program.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,066
Location
Bowie, Md.
With just a little bit of work in our wiki (ahem) you can find several programs that are supposed to work with the R-7100 - you didn't say what kind of application you were going to use it for, but here goes...

RadioControl - Modular Control Software for Radio Receivers and Transceivers

SysLabs_RadioControl : SysLabs RadioControl

Bonito RadioCom 6 -- Premium Multimode En- & Decoder Software for: Weatherfax, SatFax, RTTY, SSTV, PSK31, Sitor, SDR Integration, radio control, plus SubDecoder as well as TX Encoder

Commander

dxlab : DXLab

TRX-Manager

As you see some of them have associated Yahoo groups for support. I couldn't tell whether Ham Radio Deluxe supports the R-7100 (someone can chime in here), as they've completly overhauled their website and require a userid/password which I don't have (yet). But for ham apps, HRD is a very popular and powerful piece of software.

The eHam reviews on the Bonito software have been highly variable - some like it, some trash it completely. As is the case when shopping for software, and particularly in this case, always go for a trial version first, if one is available

best regards..Mike
 

woebbers

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
257
Location
Valley Forge Pa
ahem,

I did check the wiki's and to be honest found nothing helpful. My opinion is to ask people in the field using the software for their opinion. Thats what forums are for. I will gladly answer anyone's questions if i can to help them avoid hours of frustration trying to get something to work and the countless wasted dollars you need to spend to try all of the programs listed. The yahoo groups for the Icom R-7100 are filled with emails abort Viagra and that sort of stuff. Again No help. Thats why i turned to this forum. I have my request listed in the right Category asking a question and hoping to get a helpful answer to my questions from knowledgeable people. I have spent hours on the internet looking for this answer. Most stuff is outdated.

Maybe my original request wasted clear enough Ill make my request simpler: Does anyone owning a Icom r-7100 have a program they are happy with? And will it run on todays windows machines. I want to do memory management and store alpha tags
 

W9BU

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
5,891
Location
Brownsburg, Indiana
I'll warn you in advance--my reply offers no real answers to your question, so feel free to not read it.

I did check the wiki's and to be honest found nothing helpful.
If you do find an answer to your question, I trust you'll update the RadioReference Wiki. The Wiki is a user-supported resource.

I have spent hours on the internet looking for this answer. Most stuff is outdated.
Some might say the IC-R7100 is outdated, too. I bought mine in 1994 and that model had been on the market for a few years then.

Does anyone owning a Icom r-7100 have a program they are happy with?
My R7100 is in a box in the closet. The only program I ever used with it was ScanStar from Signal Intelligence. That was several years ago and I see that it has morphed into other products.
 

LesWurk

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
181
Location
Land of RF
Pretty well any program that is for a Icom CIV command set radio will work. The commands the radio accepts and what the program supports will limit you. You can change your CIV address generally in the program or the radio itself. I know for a fact the older Spectrum Explorer will load memories but alfa tagging of memories are not supported by the radio. You can control the radio by Spectrum Explorer and have a alfa tag in the database. If you let us know what version of Windows your running someone may be able to offer more help.




ahem,

I did check the wiki's and to be honest found nothing helpful. My opinion is to ask people in the field using the software for their opinion. Thats what forums are for. I will gladly answer anyone's questions if i can to help them avoid hours of frustration trying to get something to work and the countless wasted dollars you need to spend to try all of the programs listed. The yahoo groups for the Icom R-7100 are filled with emails abort Viagra and that sort of stuff. Again No help. Thats why i turned to this forum. I have my request listed in the right Category asking a question and hoping to get a helpful answer to my questions from knowledgeable people. I have spent hours on the internet looking for this answer. Most stuff is outdated.

Maybe my original request wasted clear enough Ill make my request simpler: Does anyone owning a Icom r-7100 have a program they are happy with? And will it run on todays windows machines. I want to do memory management and store alpha tags
 

woebbers

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
257
Location
Valley Forge Pa
thanks Les

I'm using windows 7...i had a conversation today with someone from Grove and he has software but it needs a dongle to plug into the civ box....the civ box is still available for around 150.00 unless I find one on ebay or here in our classified section....maybe someone has one who reads the threads?.......
 

W9BU

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
5,891
Location
Brownsburg, Indiana
I Googled "icom ci-v USB" and got several hits. There's really no point in spending the money for an Icom CT-17 level converter. The CT-17 is still RS-232 so you'd probably need to convert that to USB unless your computer has a serial port.
 

woebbers

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
257
Location
Valley Forge Pa
thanks for looking that up i would have never went in that direction...because of that i save 125.00...thats something to add to the wiki.....i just ordered a cable on ebay! thanks big guy!

Sal
 

n0nhp

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
727
Location
Grand Junction
An interesting bit of trivia,
The programming cable for Radio Shack / GRE scanners happens to be CIV level converter.
I don't use my 7100 any more either it is in reserve status in the box in the basement, however I do like HRD for the IC7000. It comes packaged with DM780 that is a pretty decent data mode (at least the ones the amateurs use)program.
I don't see the ICR-7100 in it's control list though. May have to experiment a bit. It is donate-ware, so trying it is free.

Bruce
 

woebbers

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
257
Location
Valley Forge Pa
Thanks Bruce

I have one of those already..and you say you used one before?...I checked out the software and for freeware I may give it a try....thanks for your help

Sal
 

LesWurk

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
181
Location
Land of RF
Just tried HamradioDelux with the R7100. I set the radio to IC R9000 because the memories are laid out the same (Ithink) . But anyways HamradioDelux must not have enabled memory management for Icom but you can scan and somewhat control the R7100. In HRD I set the CIV address to 34 and the baud rate to 9600. Used the GRE usb interface (mine was on serial port 7) on a WinXP dual core laptop. This may or may not help get you started.
 

woebbers

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
257
Location
Valley Forge Pa
Lee thanks for the info...tonite I will download the software <hdr> to start i think, and try to see what works...thank you for breaking out your r-7100 and trying for me...after i get this working Ill make notes and post here and hopefully it will make the wiki page.

Sal
 

dkf435

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
699
Location
Sweet Home/Foster OR
You will not get high speed scanning out of the R7100 unless you run some type of squelch sensing. The Scan Cat program had a dongle that would trip one of the RTS or CTS lines on the RS232 to tell the software to stop scanning as having to send the commands to check the S meter would slow things up. Going to a computer with a USB connection is that most USB converters only use the data pins . Scan Cat Gold for Windows still has support for the AOR and Icom radios and I have used it before to load memories but you may have to play with the baud rate depending on your interface. The R7100A was years ahead of its time as it is still usable with the Narrow FM mode and excellent sensitivity. The only thing missing is P25 but that can be had with a ARD25.

David Kb7uns
 

Fast1eddie

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
549
Location
Crafton Pennsylvania
Oh man, Scan Cat. No way and never again. I also have a 7100 and have attempted pc control but never got anywhere with it. Interesting forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top