Pro-106 - Is this what encryption sounds like?

chaddiesel

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
I have a Radio Shack Pro-106 that I use to listen to the local PD (Project SAFE-T, P25). Very rarely, I hear a scrambled sound come over the scanner. Didn't think much of it until I was listening to an operation yesterday that involved the SWAT team. I could hear the regular city police, but it would be mixed in with this scrambled sound. I looked up some clips on YouTube that sounded similar, and the comments were mixed with, "yes it's encryption", "no it's not encryption" and "no it's not encryption, it's technically something else". Just curious. I posted a short clip on YouTube:

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

-Chad
 

chaddiesel

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
16
Location
Indiana
Thank you. I appreciate it. I hear this sound so rarely, I never thought much about it assuming it was just a reception problem. With the city police mentioning SWAT being involved yesterday, I thought maybe they were using encryption, since I could hear other transmissions clearly.

Thanks for the help.

-Chad
 

dave3825

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
3,557
Location
Suffolk County NY
I hear this sound so rarely, I never thought much about it assuming it was just a reception problem.
What agency is that on? If there is no mention of encryption in the database, you can make a database submission indicating partial enc is being used on the freq or talk group.
 

CycleSycho

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
562
Location
Central South Carolina
.


:) My scanner (maybe a part of the operation of the local systems), is a 'busy signal' comes across the radio clear as a bell, during these encrypted portions, the capital 'E' is displayed. Every time... :)


.
 

KevinC

Totally Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
7,667
Location
HTC Sucks
.


:) My scanner (maybe a part of the operation of the local systems), is a 'busy signal' comes across the radio clear as a bell, during these encrypted portions, the capital 'E' is displayed. Every time... :)


.
The Pro-106 doesn't have that feature.
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
6,087
Location
Baltimore County, MD
:) My scanner (maybe a part of the operation of the local systems), is a 'busy signal' comes across the radio clear as a bell, during these encrypted portions, the capital 'E' is displayed. Every time... :)
Using PSR-800 EZ Scan and PRO-668 iScan software, you can set the encrypted audio to Audio Tone, Silence, or Digital Noise under the Advanced Features tab. Using Whistler EZ Scan, it is under the Advanced Features and Audio Options tabs.
 

KevinC

Totally Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
7,667
Location
HTC Sucks
Using PSR-800 EZ Scan and PRO-668 iScan software, you can set the encrypted audio to Audio Tone, Silence, or Digital Noise under the Advanced Features tab. Using Whistler EZ Scan, it is under the Advanced Features and Audio Options tabs.
Unfortunately the OP has a Pro-106, so all this talk about encryption mute does him no good at all.
 

CycleSycho

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
562
Location
Central South Carolina
Using PSR-800 EZ Scan and PRO-668 iScan software, you can set the encrypted audio to Audio Tone, Silence, or Digital Noise under the Advanced Features tab. Using Whistler EZ Scan, it is under the Advanced Features and Audio Options tabs.


:) That is nice to know, although I kinda like that 'busy signal', it lets me go to the radio and see what system/radio is using it. :)


.
 
Top