Pro-106 P25 tweaks and control freq. question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Finto

Member
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
81
Location
Rhode Island
I am running my 106 with the latest firmware. Trying to monitor this Rhode Island Statewide Communications Network (RISCON) Trunking System, Statewide, Rhode Island - Scanner Frequencies system. I downloaded it from RR using Win 500. I'm in Newport which is in the South Zone. I put all the control frequencies from the north and south zone in. Should I have done this? I'm not getting much on the RISCON at all. Should I put fewer or certain control frequencies in ? As far as monitoring a simulcast are there any threshold tweaks I can do or set to "roam" or no. I'm wondering if it's a location issue or a setup issue. I do have WX priority off . I appreciate the help in advance. Here is another description of the system http://scan-ne.net/wiki/index.php?title=Rhode_Island_Digital_System
 
Last edited:

Finto

Member
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
81
Location
Rhode Island
Hmmm it seems with a 90 to 97% signal on an analysis I'm getting only half transmissions. Very choppy
 

GrayJeep

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
967
Location
N. Colo.
Use the TSYS -> Analyse function to see which control channels you are receiving.
Then delete the ones you can't hear - the radio wastes time checking those channels (in certain setups) and if there's nothing there, it's a total waste of sweep time.

Most folks have decided that setting the system to Stationary (instead of Off or Roam) works better. I always check the "Check all CCs" checkbox too.

I can't help with simulcast as I have no experience with it.
 

04Z1V6

Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
778
Location
Castle Rock, Co.
I looked at the system and would only use the south tower. I do see a ton of encrypted TG's in that system do not put them in your program. I would also program in 154.905 and see if you can receive that. I would also use the setting of stationary this always helps my scanner no matter what the receive rate is.
 

eclipse175

Member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
61
Location
New England
I'm in north Kingston. Using a pro106. Right on the water the system sounds like garbage. Every talk group is choppy. The signal strength I strong. I don't get it? Does the pro 106 suck at receiving simulcast signal?
 

k1jbp

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
21
Location
West Warwick, RI
I'm in north Kingston. Using a pro106. Right on the water the system sounds like garbage. Every talk group is choppy. The signal strength I strong. I don't get it? Does the pro 106 suck at receiving simulcast signal?
I live in West Warwick, and get the same thing. I even tried putting up an outside antenna without success. It's the system, because I tried a Uniden Home Patrol with the same results.
 

evfd1625

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
369
Location
Indiana
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.0.4; en-us; DROID RAZR Build/6.7.2-180_DHD-16_M4-31) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Try receiving with no antenna or just a small paperclip stuck in the antenna jack just to see if reducing the signal from an adjacent tower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top