Pro-106 unable to enter EXACT frequencies for P-25 system

juanbanzai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
10
Location
North Tonawanda, NY
I’ve been trying to program my newly acquired PRO-106 to the P-25 trunking system for my county. There are five control frequencies that range from 424.1625 to 424.3625. I enter in the frequencies exactly as they appear in RadioReference, but after I enter the exact frequency into the radio and hit the ENTER key, what the radio actually saves is 424.160 or 424.360. I’ve read where some scanners hide the last digit or so in the frequency display, but what this PRO-106 is doing is preventing the radio from picking up anything coming from my county‘s system. I have the last version of the firmware that was available for the 106 installed; 2.0 I think. Can anyone shed some light on this for me? I”VE read through the manual several times and I’m too much of a newbie to digital scanners to determine if I’m missing the solution or not.
Many thanks,

Aaron
 

rk911

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
258
Location
Wheaton, IL
are you sure the system you want to monitor is un-encrypted Phase 1? if the system is encrypted you're out of luck. or if it's s a Phase 2 system you're out of luck with the 106.
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
1,059
Location
Monkton, MD
If you are using ARC500. go to Global Settings/Expert and check the box for Flexstep. Except for 2 Sheriff Spec Ops talkgroups, Niagara Co is not encrypted. Are you close to the old WurliTzer plant at 908 Niagara Falls Blvd?
 
Last edited:

juanbanzai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
10
Location
North Tonawanda, NY
If you are using ARC500. go to Global Settings/Expert and check the box for Flexstep. Except for 2 Sheriff Spec Ops talkgroups, Niagara Co is not encrypted. Are you close to the old WurliTzer plant at 908 Niagara Falls Blvd?
Hello and thanks for the replies. Yes... I’m about 2 miles from the Wurlitzer factory. In fact, I used to restore jukeboxes for a company out of there many years ago. I miss doing that.

Anyway, Niagara County is indeed a Phase 1 system. I’ve been through the Global Settings (in the Expert area) and I’m not seeing anything for Flexstep. In fact, I‘m not even seeing it mentioned in the manual. I’m not using the ARC-500 software. That didn‘t come with the radio nor did a programming cable. Perhaps I’ve had too much turkey and am asleep at the wheel, but it sounds like without that programming software I’m out of luck?
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
1,059
Location
Monkton, MD
You beat me to it KevinC. I was just entering that when I saw your response pop up. I know a guy named Joe who serviced jukeboxes out of Cockeysville, MD. He ordered parts from that address. I have been involved with rebuilding old WurliTzer theatre pipe organs.
 

juanbanzai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
10
Location
North Tonawanda, NY
That’s got it, Gents. Thanks very much. Now I just need to get ahold of some programming software and I’ll be all set. The cable came this afternoon. So nice to be able to hear my law enforcement agencies again.
 
Top