PRO-107 programming cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrisr3nd

Just kind of taking it all in
Premium Subscriber
Hi everyone. I am not only new to this site but I'm also very new to scanners. I recently Bought a PRO-107 and it didn't come with a programming cable. Will any micro USB work or do I need something special. I noticed that Radio Shack doesn't carry the cable recommended on this site. Any help would be very helpful.

Thanks

KC5EIB

Feed Provider
RSU part number 12480224 for the Pro-107 CABLE ASSY USB will cost you $42.89 plus shipping and is In Stock. This item can be ordered through the POS system in ant company owned Radio Shack

jamesa53

If memory serves me correctly, the cable is only used for updating the CPU version and for charging the batteries while in the scanner. You can update the RRDB Library, import frequencies and program the scanner using an SD card port in your computer in conjunction with the iScan software.

morrisr3nd

Just kind of taking it all in
Premium Subscriber
Upgrading firmware on PRO-107

If memory serves me correctly, the cable is only used for updating the CPU version and for charging the batteries while in the scanner. You can update the RRDB Library, import frequencies and program the scanner using an SD card port in your computer in conjunction with the iScan software.

I believe that you are absolutely correct. I recently got the unit on eBay and I'm not sure of the firmware version and if it's up to date. I need the cable so I can check that and update if necessary. I've already updated the RRDB. I travel a lot and I'm testing it on some conventional channels that I'm close to until I can get to some trunked ones back home. It's working great on those but it needs to work at home.

Thanks for the info.

PS: Is there a way to check the firmware version without connecting it to the computer? That would be nice to know how to do.

bbriand

Premium Subscriber