Pro-18 and Pro-2055

Status
Not open for further replies.

smitho

Howdy,

I went out and bought the PRO-18 a few days ago, and I am most likely going to take advantage of the 30 day return policy.

Background - I use my 2055 often at least a few times a week - we live out in the country and find it invaluable for storms and most recently the fires. a very good unit that has never given me and issue and does everything I want it to.

I liked the looks and the new toys on the Pro-18 and swallowed hard and bought it. I was hoping it would be good to use at home attached to my 20+ foot outdoor antenna that my 2055 lives on and then have the capability of taking it with me when I need to.

I programmed it like I have the 2055 and with the same antenna as the 2055 it does not receive anywhere near as well as my 2055.

I'm not a scanner expert but I'm not totally un-learned, I understand the basics but I'm more of a user than a hobbiest.

I'm assuming because the unit is smaller than my base station that by having to smash all that into a small case that is where I lose what ever it takes to have the same type or reception correct?

Thanks much! -S

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
It's very hard to evaluate with not much technical detail here (for example, what antenna you are using, what freqs you used to evaluate, a more precise idea of where you are besides 'NE Texas') - however before you return it, I would look closely at the PRO-18 programming. This is an object oriented scanner, I believe, and there are likely to be hooks and things you didn't know about - such as turning on an attenuator by mistake (been there, done that...)

Also you're asking an awful lot comparing a small handheld with a mobile model. Depending on where you are, there may be some overloading issues here - you cannot expect a small handheld to work with a 20 foot antenna (no matter what type). The overloading could be desensing you, which would basically reduce your usable sensitivity.