Pro 197 Radio Shack Software Help -- Missing USB Adapter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacob99

Premium Subscriber
Wow...lots of q's on the 197. Well, here's another one, only it has to do with the software from RS.

I downloaded it off radioreference.com/radioshack, and the software is fine. I hook up the scanner to the computer using this cable: RadioShack® USB-PC Scanner Programming Cable - RadioShack.com

The software won't change the freq in the scanner. It shows I have no freq in the scanner, which isn't true.

After some troubleshooting, I realized I do not have the smaller cable pictured in the link above. I don't know if this cable was included or if I just lost it. The cable looks like an adapter of some kind (i'm still new to this, as you can tell lol). Could the adapter solve my problem? What is it called and how can I buy another one?

Thanks! :)

EDIT TO ADD: My computer is a Dell Inspiron, Windows 7, 64-bit OS. As of now, I am only using the free trial version of the RS software. Didn't know if you needed this info to help...

Last edited:

RomeRon

I think you get 2 free downloads with the software that came with the 197, better make the 2nd one work or you will need a Premium Subscription from RR to be able to download from their site using software.

Jacob99

Premium Subscriber
You don't need the small cable, is your software WIN500 or ARC500.

Neither...just the Radio Shack sofware dowload from the first site I mentioned in the op.

I think you get 2 free downloads with the software that came with the 197, better make the 2nd one work or you will need a Premium Subscription from RR to be able to download from their site using software.

I haven't tried to download off RR yet...I first just want to make sure I can hook-up the scanner to the computer. When I try to do that and view the freq already on my scanner, I can't.

RomeRon

Neither...just the Radio Shack sofware dowload from the first site I mentioned in the op.