PRO 197 Wont download to receiver

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam2002

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
2
Hello
I am new to scanners and to this forum . Seems like the typical complaint about this software but Im getting nothing enabled when I try to scan . Bought a premium sub from RR I have the cable installed , the led flashes when downloading to scanner but the radio screen just stays the same .Been sitting here in this chair for 3 days trying to figure out what I am doing wrong ? i am trying to download conventional channels from Stanislaus county Ca. police ,fire and services for a total of 34 frequencies all to scan list #1 .
If anyone can be of any help it will be greatly appreciated
Thank you
Sam
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,801
Location
New Jersey
Hello
I am new to scanners and to this forum . Seems like the typical complaint about this software but Im getting nothing enabled when I try to scan . Bought a premium sub from RR I have the cable installed , the led flashes when downloading to scanner but the radio screen just stays the same .Been sitting here in this chair for 3 days trying to figure out what I am doing wrong ? i am trying to download conventional channels from Stanislaus county Ca. police ,fire and services for a total of 34 frequencies all to scan list #1 .
If anyone can be of any help it will be greatly appreciated
Thank you
Sam
Hit the scan button, then hit the 1 key and see if it starts scanning.
 

DonS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
What software? To my knowledge, there are three different programs that work with the PRO-197.

"the led flashes when downloading to scanner but the radio screen just stays the same"

That tells me:
1. the PC software is sending the data to the cable
2. the cable is getting the data
3. the scanner is not receiving the data

What programming cable are you using? If you're using one from RadioShack, make sure you don't use the little "adapter cable" that may have come with it.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,801
Location
New Jersey
What software? To my knowledge, there are three different programs that work with the PRO-197.

"the led flashes when downloading to scanner but the radio screen just stays the same"

That tells me:
1. the PC software is sending the data to the cable
2. the cable is getting the data
3. the scanner is not receiving the data

What programming cable are you using? If you're using one from RadioShack, make sure you don't use the little "adapter cable" that may have come with it.
As Robert DeNiro said to Billy Crystal "You're Good"
 

sam2002

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
2
Problem solved

I stuck the cable in the ext sp instead of pc/if
Criminy sakes !
Like I said Im new
Thank you for the replies
Sam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top