• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro-2055... Flickering

Status
Not open for further replies.

bcradio

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
254
Location
Victoria BC
Hey Folks.. Just noticed on my Pro-2055 the display kind of flickers now and then.. Almost like it's losing power for a fraction of a second. The numbers/letters flick just for a moment, then back to normal. This only seems to happen when scanning. Backlight appears normal.

I hope to hell this isn't a prelude to a display failure (Yes, I have that dreaded date code). My question is, has anyone else noticed this? Is this normal, or a sign of an impending failure?

Thanks in advance
 

drew6553

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
782
Location
Supply
mine will flicker when its pulling weak signal from a 800 mhz voice channel had mine for a year with no problem
 

KCChiefs9690

CQ DX
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Messages
1,786
Location
Lewis Center, OH
I believe there was a thread about this a few months ago, someone said in the dark with the backlight on they could see it flicker when it was scanning. Everyone that responded said that their 2055 did the same thing, so it sounds like it's normal.
 

Eng74

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,679
Location
Kern County, CA
Is this happening on a trunked system? If I rember right the same kind of thing happens with the 97 when you have a CC in the *00 channel you get a flicker.
 

bcradio

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
254
Location
Victoria BC
Folks, thanks a lot! You've put my mind at ease.

I've tried playing around with the contrast, seems to still do the flickr thing. Glad to hear it's not an iminent sign of doom. :)
 

KD8CPI

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
42
Location
NW Ohio
Eng74 said:
I think when the display goes it just goes right now no real warning.

Yes when they go there is no warning. Only 3 months on the desk and mine is
sitting in NY getting repaired...
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
I have been using mine since Feb and can't say I ever saw it flicker, exception maybe when a signal maybe cutting in and out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top