PRO-2096 - can't clone

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmamtm

I have a working pro-2096 that i have been using for several years. i have been able to clone this unit to other ( used )units without issue. however. my friend bought a NIB pro-2096 and i can't get it to clone. using win96 and a radio shack cable. it goes thru the steps, just no results. am i missing something that has to be done to an new out of the box unit?

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Have you tried cloning directly from one scanner to the other without the software (Win96)?

tvengr

Well Known Member
The Pro-96 and Pro-2096 require mono connectors on the cables. You need the mono adapter on the end of your USB cable. The cloning cable requires mono connectors on both ends. Are you plugging the cable into the headphone jack instead of the PC/IF jack? That is a very common error.

cmamtm

the radio shack cable goes in the pc/if jack on the scanner, and a com port on the pc running win96. i download the info from my
working scanner, then upload to new scanner. but still doesnt work. as stated i have cloned several units in the past without issue. i do have a mono cable to go scanner to scanner on the way.

tvengr

Well Known Member
Is the cable plugged in all of the way. Sometimes, you have to push hard to get it to fully seat. Does your software have an auto detect function?

cmamtm

ok. new point to point mono cloning cable came in. no luck. it is showing that data is being transferred. i can read the data after cloning. comparing the source and target data i can't see any difference. i also went thru radioreference and did the import frequencies scenario....still the same. data seems to be in scanner. but no hits on any frequency. i havent given up yet

tvengr

Well Known Member
Do you hear RF noise when you open the squelch? You should if there are any conventional frequencies without a PL tone. Try swapping antennas between the 2 scanners.

cmamtm