Pro-2096 for Houston? Best $250 Scanner Option?

Status
Not open for further replies.

treytexag

I've got a Radio shack Pro-2096 coming in to a local RS store for $250 (brand new in box) - as you know, the 2096's are being cleared out. I'm new to scanning, and want to scan all the local PD, FD, sherriff, etc. I've been looking around, and trying to figure out if the Pro-2096 is the scanner I should get for this price.

Anybody know if the Pro-2096 is the best radio for Houston / Harris County for $250? If not, which scanner would you recommend for Houston / Harris County for around $250?

Please advise your thoughts folks. Sure appreciate your help.

Trey

PS: RS guy told me if I don't like it, I can return within 30 days.

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Welcome to the RadioReference forums. We have a variety forums on here to choose from so it's important to post your question or request to the proper forum to get the best answer. At the top of the busy forums are Stickies which guide you where to post your question. I've moved your post from the General Scanning forum to this one as it's most applicable. In GenScan is a sticky (below) that helps with where to post. Please make note. Thanks.

NewUsers.jpg

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
A 2096 will work well for the near future in the Houston area. The only thing it will not pick up is the new P25 STARNet ramping up in the area and that is due to the frequencies being used in the Houston proper area, which are in the 700 MHz range for the most part.

treytexag

Thanks Lou, this is exactly the kind of information I was looking for. I was pretty sure the 2096 would work now, but I was less sure that upcoming upgrades to systems in the area would be accomodated by the 2096.